Weekend Roundup

20130722-215854.jpg

Well, it’s still Halloween in July around here. I found a really cool black fabric to use for the sashing material and cut up my strips. It’s a Robert Kaufman print and I really love it. I think it goes great with the Costume Clubhouse fabric.
20130722-214829.jpg

Now, time to do the layout. It took a lot of thought to make sure to cut the prints properly and to sew them in the right direction. The Topiary Tiles pattern did not use the directional fabric that I chose for this design. And it used precut squares instead of the fat quarters that I used. I had to do a few reinterpretations of the pattern directions to get them cut the same. I ended up doing 20 big squares instead of 24. So, first I cut my focal fabric (20 7″ squares) and then I cut the rest of it.

From each supporting fabric I cut:
20 11 1/2 x 2 1/2″ strips
20 3″ squares
20 2 1/2 x 7″ strips
20 2 1/2 x 3″ rectangles
40 3 x 7″ strips

I mixed up my supporting fabric and used some of the same patterns on multiples blocks. I cut the 2 1/2 and 3″ WOF strips first and then cut down from there to get all the pieces I needed.
20130722-214917.jpg

I love the way it turned out. I had a little help while trying the layout on my bedroom floor and then a little wrestling match ensued between my two kitty helpers. It’s good to take a break for a little entertainment from time to time. After the match the layout ended up like this:
20130722-214949.jpg

I found this adorable spider fabric that I will be using for the border.

20130722-214844.jpg

And I can’t wait to see how it all comes together in the end. I think it looks good so far.
20130722-214756.jpg

4 thoughts on “Weekend Roundup

  1. This is so cute! I have some of those fabrics and love how you are using them!

  2. Nony says:

    I have a fat quarter pack of these as well, sitting around waiting for me to commit to a plan to put them together! They look great the way you’ve used them – and I love the black fabric you’ve put with it! I still have some of that exact fabric left from a space quilt I made! It seems we are fabric twins! :^)

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

