Change is in the Air

Well, the fabric choice of my border did not work out. Let’s just say that my seam ripper was put to work. It distracted the eye from the main fabric in the quilt. I still love this spider fabric and I will use it on the back. I’m thinking of some kind of modern pieced backing using that fabric and some of the scraps from the Costume Clubhouse line.

20130728-210322.jpg

So I was able to finish the top with a halloweenish polka dot fabric that really sets off the blocks well. Time to piece together a backing. I found some really cute Halloween word fabric but it’s all glittery and I know, based on previous experience, that glitter comes off on my machine and everywhere else. So, I will most likely piece together the spider fabric, the polka dots, and remaining fabric from the Riley Blake bundle. I’ve yet to get started on that.

20130804-140628.jpg
20130804-140752.jpg

I’ve been working on a new Craftsy workshop taught by Amy Gibson of Stitchery Dickory Dock. It’s a basic pattern but I’ve already learned an easier way to piece some things together. I didn’t buy enough fabric so I’m waiting for another layer cake to arrive on my doorstep. I’m using Santa’s Workshop by Doodlebug Designs for Riley Blake.

20130804-140722.jpg
Here’s a pic of it halfway sewn and laid out.

20130804-141041.jpg

2 thoughts on “Change is in the Air

  1. Heidi says:

    Love your Halloween quilt! I think the polka-dot fabric is a perfect accent to the main quilt blocks… and a pieced back will look great, too!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

