Reaching the Finish Line

Okay, I’m in the home stretch on the Halloween quilt for my mom. I started piecing the backing by taking a rectangle of spider fabric and surrounding it with the backing fabric I found.

20130818-143848.jpg
I then cut it in quarters and flipped it around a bit. I was a little constrained because of my unending use of directional fabric. I really need to tame that beast. Anyway, I ended up with this:

20130818-144108.jpg Which I did not like due to the swastika appearance. So, I did a little more improvisational piecing and added a few internal borders. I needed to add some dimension to each edge anyway. I like the way it turned out. It’s all sandwiched and pin basted and ready to quilt. Gryffin loves to help hold the fabric down while I take the pictures!

20130818-144411.jpg

I also finished the top for the Christmas quilt I’m working on for the Craftsy Amy Gibson workshop. And I had enough fabric left over to make a sweet pillow. The fabric is Santa’s Workshop by Doodlebug Designs for Riley Blake.

20130818-144602.jpg

20130818-144648.jpg

20130818-144703.jpg
So, I have quilting to do on the Halloween quilt and 3 more finished tops that need backing to be completed this fall to be ready for random gifts and then Christmas. That plate of mine never gets very clean. Oh well – always on to the next project and trying to decrease that WIP pile!

2 thoughts on “Reaching the Finish Line

  1. barbarakonkle says:

    Oh I am loving your Christmas quilt! Beautiful!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

