Busy, Busy, Busy

There is a lot going on and I have not taken too much time to work on the quilting I need to do. But I was impressed with myself that I completed the sandwiching process, which I hate. I just don’t have the room to do it properly and then my back is never completely taut like it is supposed to be. It’s very frustrating. Any tips and tricks are definitely welcome!

After that process, I began the quilting. I’m doing a bit of stitch-in-the-ditch by going around the squares. Every so often, in the small solid squares, I’m going to add this little spiderweb design. I think it looks kind of cool.

20130901-154102.jpg

The quilting is coming out pretty well. I’m only about 1/3 of the way through. The quilting on the back looks better than I thought it would even with a horrible pucker of looser fabric back there. Urggh!

20130901-154454.jpg

Here’s that pucker. Luckily it doesn’t show up too much on the black fabric. I may end up hand-tacking it down though.

20130901-154829.jpg

I hope to make some progress within the next few weeks. Mom needs to have this one by the end of September so she can add it to her Halloween decorations. I’m getting excited for her to get it!

13 thoughts on “Busy, Busy, Busy

  1. To keep the backing taut, have you tried using masking tape around the edges to stick it to the floor or a table as step one in the sandwich? This made a big difference for me. I’ve putore info on how to do the layering here: https://sites.google.com/site/bertcollections/tech-tips-demos/make-a-quilt-sandwich.

    BTW – love those spider webs too ๐Ÿ‘

    • crossquilt says:

      Thanks! I’m definitely going to bookmark your tips. Part of my problem is a table and/or floor space that is not large enough to use for the whole quilt, unless I do it in sections and I’m not sure how well that will work. I tried the tape thing but it doesn’t work very well on carpet. :-). I didn’t think it would work but I tried anyway.

      • I think you can do this in sections. I have not tried it this way but i am sure i was reading about it somewhere recently. I just can’t remember if it was a blog or my notes from my favorite quilting class so if I find it I’ll let you know.

      • Oh, and the other thing is when taping to carpet try wider tape or a different brand. I only layer on a carpeted floor and I just stick the tape to the carpet but I have found the really cheap tape ( which is what I started with) doesn’t work so well but cheap and wider or more expensive masking tape works fine.

  2. Joanna says:

    I’m neither a halloween or spider fan, but those spiderwebs look so cute!! I can commiserate on the puckering; I’m still trying to get the hang of properly basting as well though smaller quilts are much easier to get right than larger ones!

    • crossquilt says:

      I agree on the smaller ones. I actually was able to spray baste the last baby quilt I made and that did seem to work out pretty well. And, I can’t wait to make a few more spiderwebs on this one!

  3. I really like the little spiderwebs! It’s a very cute addition to the quilting!

    I’ve never had to baste on a carpet, so I’m not sure I’ve got any suggestions there. I’ve done it on the kitchen floor a few times or on a cement floor, but I’ll be honest – I’ve still have problems with the back not being taut enough! More recently, I’ve started basting on a table top and it seems to be working out okay – my table isn’t very big (maybe 3′ x 4′) so I have to do it in sections. I’ve done the middle section first, then released everything and slide it over to one side and reclamped everything down, pinned all of that, and then kept that up moving around the quilt, kind of doing opposite sections at a time, if that makes sense. By and large it’s worked out pretty well for me, though I’ve only done it a couple times!

    • crossquilt says:

      Yes, I’m thinking about sectioning on a table for my next one. It worked really well on a baby quilt on my ironing board when I tried it there. Thanks for the tips and suggestions.

  4. @mpv61 says:

    This is someone’s information on basting using boards. It looks brilliant; I’m going to try it for my next quilt.(if I can find boards the right length). Good luck!

  5. what a cute Halloween quilt! I just love decorating for fall and Halloween. I definitely agree with an above commenter about taping the backing to the floor when basting. I use extra wide painter’s tape. I have a whole post about as a step in my Beginner Quilt Along on my Tutorials page, including photos.

    And- as far as the pucker goes, when you wash and dry it and the quilt gets all crinkly, you might not even see it at all!

    Thank you so much for sharing this at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

