Inspiration, Design, and Paper Piecing

I’m blaming my new project on a design idea in my head, a fabric-looking trip to Hobby Lobby, and my Electric Quilt software program. So, I had this idea for a baby quilt – Pittsburgh Steeler’s inspired but not using Steeler’s fabric. Something a little more subtle than that. I had this Chevron baby quilt in mind and that Hobby Lobby trip resulted on the perfect color palette.

20131005-181729.jpg
I opened my Electric Quilt software program and started designing what I had in mind. I needed to incorporate the red and blue but only in small bits. Therefore, I added another small chevron line on a few portions of the quilt top.

20131005-185726.jpg

Here is where I state that my cutting precision leaves a lot to be desired and I was able to print foundation paper piecing templates. At this point, let’s go back a few hours to my visit to Quiet Play via the Freshly Pieced WIP Wednesday post. Katie was a guest blogger for Lee that day. She made a statement in her post that anything can be paper-pieced. So, with my lack of precision cutting and Electric Quilt rotary instructions showing some weird angle, like 43 degrees or something like that, I decided to go with Paper-piecing. So far, so good. I like how it’s turning out.

20131005-185943.jpg

7 thoughts on “Inspiration, Design, and Paper Piecing

  1. Good plan to paper piece it! It definitely takes the challenge of precise cutting out of the equation. Makes for lovely crisp points too! Looking good so far!

  2. Dropped by from FP WIP Weds – isn’t paper piecing great for precision and I also love that you can use very small pieces too that you could never manage with the paper backing. Your project’s looking good so far ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Amy Holmes says:

    looking great. I am sure the Steelers fan will love it!

  4. that is such a neat chevron pattern. I like the small stripes just underneath the larger ones. Almost like a highlighting effect!

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

