Sugar Block Club….so far

The Sugar Block Club by Amy Gibson has one more block left for this year. Back in January, I chose a red, white, and black theme. As the months went by the color play got more focused and more dramatic. I love how these blocks are coming out and they are working so well together.

20131101-201118.jpg

I may decide to scrap the first ones, the ones with more orange-red and less white fabric, and re-do them with my updated palette. I’ll decide that after they are all complete. This is block #10:

20131101-201508.jpg

I just love the whole thing and Amy’s instructions are so clear and easy to follow. I’ve learned quite a bit from this BOM and from her 2012 Craftsy Block of the Month class. I love that quilt top, too. I have yet to quilt it. It’s for me and on the back burner from my other projects. It does hang on a quilt rack behind where I sit and sew and I get to stare at it whenever I want.

20131101-201943.jpg
This Christmas quilt, that I recently completed, is also an Amy Gibson pattern from Craftsy:

20131101-202115.jpg

This one was so simple and created such dramatic results. I took it in to work this week and everyone just loved it.

Coming up, a Bloom, Bloom, Pow finish is just around the corner. It’s the last quilt I have to finish before Christmas.

6 thoughts on “Sugar Block Club….so far

  1. wombatquilts says:

    This is looking great. I love the drama of the black/white with the red.

  2. Cheryl says:

    I love your blocks using the black background prints, it really makes the colors pop!

  3. Love the november block- and the bold palette you are using!

  4. this is such a pretty quilt! the black and white with red is a really striking color combo!

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

