Stroller Symphony

This week contained many projects finished, started, worked on, and designed. It started on Sunday with the design and start of the Stroller Symphony stroller blanket. I went with a large log cabin design and decided to border and back it with some Minkee fabric.
20131114-183821.jpg

I’d never worked with the Minkee fabric before so I did a little research and found a lot of tips to get the best out of the experience:
1. Cut with a rotary cutter to decrease shedding.
2. Pin and pin and pin and pin and pin and pin to avoid slipping while sewing.
3. Sew with the Minkee down so the feed dogs can grab it and pull it evenly.
4. If you must iron then put a towel over it so that it won’t melt (it is polyester and will melt with direct heat).
5. Keep a lint roller handy and do a clean sweep of all your implements after sewing the Minkee to de-fuzz your equipment and work area.
I pinned in a cross-hatch pattern so that it was pinned in both directions and would not move.

20131114-182411.jpg
After using all the tips, I didn’t have any trouble with the fabric at all. The blanket turned out so cute.

20131114-183059.jpg
I definitely won’t be wary of using that fabric in other projects. It is so soft and cuddly. It will be perfect for the musical family that gets this blanket at this weekend’s shower.

20131114-183516.jpg

6 thoughts on “Stroller Symphony

  1. That really is cute, I’ve never worked with minkee but your tips make it seem less daunting πŸ˜€

    • crossquilt says:

      It wasn’t that bad using the tips I found. I have some left over that I’m planning to use as a backing for doll quilts and it would be super soft as a backing on a pillow….

  2. Vicki says:

    How cute is that? Great advice for working with minkee.

  3. Joanie says:

    Darling quilt. I haven’t worked with minkee yet. I will have to keep all those tips at hand. I have heard a lot of tales as to how difficult it is to work with but those who have say how soft it is too! I am sure the recipient will treasure it and will love snuggling under it.

  4. Cute! And the pinning both ways is a great idea!

  5. super cute! I’ve always heard that Minkee was so tough to quilt with. It seems like you’ve got it down. I bet it’s SO worth it!

    Thanks for linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday!

    πŸ™‚ Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

