Christmas Detox

I’ve barely touched my machine in 2 weeks. I did learn how to make some pillows and that was fun. It’s always good to have new skills in your arsenal. You never know what will come up. A cool pillow might just save the day or at least bring a smile to a friend. ๐Ÿ™‚

A new ceiling light was installed in my sewing room and you can’t even imagine the HUGE difference it is going to make. The colors on the quilt tops that I have hanging up are so much more vibrant than what the construction grade light was showing. This picture shows the room just after the light was installed. I failed to take a before picture as I didn’t realize the difference was going to be so incredible.

20131226-205643.jpg

In addition to the light I received a few gifts to keep my obsession going. They include a couple of quilt books, some fabric bundles, and a Joann’s gift card.

20131228-214627.jpg
I’ve only briefly scanned through the 2 books and am starting to get inspired. I have a ton of fabric to work with so I should have a very productive year.

I started cutting into the Simply Style Charm Packs for the Simply Charmed quilt. I think the color combos with the sketch floral grey will work really well together.

20131229-112753.jpg
I’m happy to be at my sewing machine again.

5 thoughts on “Christmas Detox

  1. Mara says:

    Happy Sewing, Santa gave you some great gifts.

  2. Jennifer @ Glinda Quilts says:

    Know how you feel about being back at your sewing machine – nearly two weeks for me too – not good! I’m waiting for VQR to be released in the UK so am interested to see what you make especially as you have such fabby fabrics. Visiting from Sunday Stash ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Fran says:

    How funny, I’ve been sewing with the same charm pack today! What lovely gifts you received.

  4. Alyce says:

    A light is a fabulous present!!

  5. glad to hear you’re back at it, and looks like you were on the nice list this year. awesome gifts!

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

