Paper piecing – Lucky Stars BOM

I did a fabric pull last week, which I shared on Sunday Stash, to start on the Lucky Stars BOM by Elizabeth Hartman of Don’t Call me Betsy. The inspiration fabric is full of maroon, pink, purple and light green.

20140118-193037.jpg

I thought I finally felt more comfortable with paper-piecing. There were a few chances to practice with the Sugar Block Club and with the Virtual Quilting Bee during the last year. When I signed up for the 2014 Lucky Stars BOM series, which I did late last year, she included all of the 2013 blocks as well! So I dove right in with the January 2013 block as the first block to try. It is called Funky Star.

20140118-194540.jpg
I love how it turned out all shiny, glittery, and gorgeous.
The BOMs come with a 6 1/2 inch block and a 12 1/2 inch block pattern. I decided it might be cool to make some of the blocks big and some of them small but keep the same color palette and fabric choices. With that in mind, the second block I chose to make was the May 2013 block called Spotlight Star.

20140118-203102.jpg

I like how it looks with the first block.

20140118-203154.jpg
I’m glad I am no longer intimidated by the process. But, I will say that the smaller block took way more time and precision than the larger one did.
Paper piecing makes a big mess and uses quite a bit of paper. I have a ream of colored paper left over from a teenager’s school project and I’m using that for this process.

20140118-225434.jpg
It’s a messy job but I think I’m up for it.

10 thoughts on “Paper piecing – Lucky Stars BOM

  1. Shininess! You know I’ll always support fabrics that sparkle! haha … Thanks for linking up, this fabric is divine!

  2. Very nice stars! paper piecing gives such great results even though it is annoying 🙂

  3. Sara says:

    I did all of the 2013 Lucky Stars BOM ones and loved it,but I felt it was time to move on! So good for you to keep at it and I think your blocks are fabulous!

  4. They look great! I love the precision of paper piecing, but not the process so much.

  5. Looks great!! I like your color choices and the choice of bigger and smaller blocks. I’m paper piecing a circle of geese quilt right now and loving it – it’s so precise! 🙂

  6. Heather says:

    I love your fabric choices!

  7. pretty fabrics! I need to try my hand at paper piecing. I’ve never done it myself!

    Thanks for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  8. sherry says:

    nice star…love those lucky stars

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

