Quilt of Valor blocks + more stash

I’ve been working on a few blocks for my local Modern Quilt Guild. We are making 3 blocks each to be incorporated into a sampler pattern for a Quilts of Valor quilt. I used one of the Lucky Stars block patterns designed by Don’t Call me Betsy.
I find it incredibly striking!

20140125-190223.jpg
Then I made a Hovering Hawks block but found it to be a bit busy so I slashed and sewed and slashed and sewed again.

20140125-191006.jpg I feel that it is now tamed quite a bit.

20140125-191137.jpg
My third block is the Diamond Panes block from Vintage Quilt Revival. I thought it would feature the fabric really well.

20140125-191556.jpg

After all that, I did a little fabric shopping. I’ve been drooling over all the text fabrics being used for low volume backgrounds and have been searching all my normal online shops for just the right thing. I finally found some cool puzzle text fabrics on Etsy.

20140125-192036.jpg
The Word Search and Soduko fabric is by Timeless Treasures and the newspaper one is ‘Newsprint’ from the Collage collection by Carrie Bloomston. I should be receiving some script type fabric early in the week. I still have other text type prints on my wish list but that should suffice for now.
I also stopped in to one of the local quilt fabric shops, looking for those dang text prints, and picked up some items that should complement the fabrics in the paper-piecing top that I am working on.

20140125-193411.jpg
The batiks will make wonderful blenders and I grabbed a few fat quarters that should round out the color palette very well. I’m looking forward to working them into those paper-pieced stars.
Top left is Tea House by Dover Hill, black streaks is Mariko for P&B Textiles, the green with pops of color is Saturday Afternoon by Jane Spolar.

14 thoughts on “Quilt of Valor blocks + more stash

  1. Great Text fabrics. I’ve got a bit of a thing for them at the moment too!

  2. Kacey W. says:

    I would like to do a Quilt of Valor too. And I really like that FQ on the top right!

  3. Mara says:

    NIce texty additions, I am drooling over those also.

  4. Mareenchen says:

    LOVE the word search! I had so much fun doing them when I was little. πŸ™‚

  5. heather says:

    Your Quilts of Valor blocks look great. Can’t wait to see pictures of the finished quilts. Do you know about the National Sew Day this weekend? There are great prizes up for grabs if you are working on a QOV. Go to qovf.org and click the link on the right for details.

  6. Cool Blocks Lori! I knew I loved the star, but I can’t wait to see how the other two play with everyone else’s creations!
    – Katelyn @ Sing While Crafting

  7. Karen Miller says:

    Awesome QOV blocks ! Thanks for sharing them — they are really striking!

  8. your QOV blocks rock. that star is so cool, and I LOVE the way the block turned out that you slashed and stitched!

    Thanks for linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday!

    πŸ™‚ Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  9. Wonderful Quilts of Valor blocks.

  10. Lindsey says:

    Love that first block! It is very striking! The colors all work well together! I am loving those low volume prints you just got–I need to get some of those in my stash!

    Would love for you to stop by and link this up at Fabric Friday Frenzy Link Party – tomorrow!

    -Lindsey

    Fabric Friday Frenzy

  11. genie says:

    Love your diamond pane block. It turned out beautifully. All three of them are so nice.

  12. Missy says:

    I love your blocks and have to agree about how cute text fabrics are. I love the ones you got!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

