Riddle Me This

I have realized that I am starting to collect quilt tops.

20140215-212159.jpg

20140215-212211.jpg
That’s 6 tops hanging up and I have 2 more in boxes. I really need to baste and quilt these guys. I have the backing fabric for about 1/2 of them. Does anyone else hoard quilt tops without finishing them?
I finished this top today:

20140215-212744.jpg
It’s the 2013 Sugar Block club by Amy Gibson of Stitchery Dickory Dock. I picked up this lovely scribble print off of EBay.

20140215-213106.jpg
It meshes very well with the main print on the blocks.

20140215-215120.jpg
I wanted to set the designs on point but I didn’t get enough fabric to do so. I still like the way it turned out. I’m calling it ‘Riddle Me This’. The quilt just makes me think of a joke from my childhood. What’s black and white and red all over? Answer: a newspaper. It’s just goofy and I love it!

Here’s more fabric I got from #thegreatfabricdestash on Instagram. I ordered it prior to my ‘no fabric purchased for the rest of February’ pledge.

20140215-213833.jpg
I don’t know the line but I love these cool teals.

20140215-213954.jpg
I could not pass up this sweet giraffe print from Michael Miller. I’m planning to use it to make a gift for my darling niece. You just can’t go wrong with a Kona grey roll-up. And I couldn’t resist the Botanics Charm pack for $1.99 during the Daily Deal at Missouri Quilt Company.
I’m hoping to get one of those tops basted and quilted by the end of the month. That gives me 2 weeks. I think I can do it.

10 thoughts on “Riddle Me This

  1. I never know what to do with pre-cuts, but if I ran into a deal like that, I think I’d jump on it too! Good luck with tackling all those quilt tops!

  2. Kacey W. says:

    Those giraffes are too cute! Good luck with all the tops! I may have one or two hanging out in my closet as well…

  3. Alisa says:

    gosh I wish I had that problem! I have so many ideas in my head but stop dead at the fabric selection lately.. I want that charm pack!! What a great deal, you lucky duck!

  4. lindahanafee says:

    Love the giraffes! That will be such a fun fabric to use in a quilt 🙂
    And yes – I seem to have a few quilt tops just hanging around too 🙂

  5. The Sassy Quilter says:

    Yes, I totally am collecting quilt tops! Every now and then I have to have a basting day and get as many as I can done. Those days are few and far between:) I am doing the 2014 Sugar Blocks now!

  6. Sally says:

    Good luck with all your quilt tops, I tend to collect half finished tops instead! And I love your scribble fabric, it was perfect.

  7. There will always be UFOs no sweat! Keep sewing and loving it
    LeeAnna
    lapaylor.blogspot.com

  8. you can do it! I actually force myself to finish a quilt, photograph it, and blog it before starting a new one. The reason for this can be summed up in one word- basting. I HATE it. If I allowed myself to do it, I would do nothing but piece and get stumped by the basting. Of course, I like quilting and binding too, so that forces me to push through the basting process.

    I’m so glad you shared at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  9. Conni says:

    I have 2 quilt tops sitting in my closet right now too, and that is not like me, usually I don’t move on until the project is complete!! You look like you have some great projects there

  10. Lindsey says:

    I also have a bunch of quilt tops that need to be finished! I just love making the actual tops more than I like to baste them and quilt them! 🙂 I need to work on getting them done! Your quilt is lovely and I look forward to seeing more of your quilt tops done!

    Thank you for linking up to Fabric Frenzy Friday!
    -Lindsey
    Fabric Frenzy Friday

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

