Floral Pop!

Quite a while back I picked up this fabric yardage at Hobby Lobby. The main print just screamed my niece’s name so I got some coordinates and found my way to the cutting counter.

20140222-202710.jpg
I had seen a pattern in Quick Quilts Magazine that would feature that focus fabric well and I placed the fabrics and pattern together in a safe spot to work on when I got a chance. There was no immediate deadline on this project, and still isn’t, so I have not been in a hurry to complete it. Lately, I’ve been working on a few BOMs (Block of the Month blocks), and did not have a big project to work on, when this project starting calling to me. I knew it would be stitched up rather quickly and that was what I needed this week. Finishing a quilt top gives me a great sense of accomplishment. That’s one of the reasons I have several tops done without getting the quilting completed – see previous post.
I started with cutting:

cut and ready to piece

cut and ready to piece

Then I moved on to string piecing:
Feb 2014 679

String piecing magic!

String piecing magic!

There were quite a few joins that were able to be done this way and it moved the process along at an enjoyable pace.
The pattern consists of 20 blocks – 10 each pieced with two separate patterns.

20140222-200957.jpg

20140222-201016.jpg

Those 14 1/2″ blocks then were pieced back and forth in rows. The finished top does not disappoint and looks as I envisioned with these fabrics. Here’s a little sample shot.

20140222-210629.jpg
Pattern from Quick Quilts magazine April/May 2013 – Tribecca
Fabric –  Bright Devorppa Noir B24-DVN-P07 by Brother Sister Design Studio for Hobby Lobby, assorted dots, brushstrokes, flower print – all from Hobby Lobby
I found the perfect backing fabric at #thegreatfabricdestash on Instagram. XOXOXO, The Cat by Wendy Slotboom for In The Beginning fabrics.

20140222-202345.jpg

A match made in Heaven...

A match made in Heaven…

10 thoughts on “Floral Pop!

  1. That backing certainly is a great match. Thanks for linking up to Sunday Stash, have a great week.

  2. That fabric looks really fun! I bet your niece is going to love it, I know my girls would 🙂

  3. What a wonderful quilt! I agree, quick finishes are sometimes very much needed! That backing fabric is perfect!! Can’t wait to see it finished 🙂

  4. Teje says:

    Hi! This is going to be beautiful quilt and the Fabrics are lovely and fun! x Teje

  5. Lee Ann L. says:

    Love the pattern! And your fabrics choices are wonderful!

  6. Tiffany says:

    How cute! I love those colors.

  7. LOVE this, and I’m so glad I got to see it in person!

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  8. Lindsey says:

    What a fun quilt you are making! All of those colors are great together!

    Thank you for linking up to Fabric Frenzy Friday!
    -Lindsey
    Fabric Frenzy Friday

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

