Virtual Quilting Bee – Purple Paradise

My Virtual Quilting Bee quilt is complete!!

20140303-205119.jpg
I decided on an ‘outside of the box’ type of layout. I chose 15 of the blocks and grouped them in threes. I put my favorite ones a bit off center and moved out from there. I then created a bit of an asymmetrical design for the quilt top. I separated the groupings with some sashing that kind of looks like a diagonal hash tag.

20140303-205754.jpg
And now for a few close-ups:

20140303-205934.jpg

20140303-205948.jpg

20140303-210016.jpg

20140303-210052.jpg
Channel quilting in the sashing really brought it to life. For the blocks I tried to quilt each block a little different than what the block would normally call for. I used a Gutterman variegated purple thread. It had just the perfect colors for this quilt.

20140303-212246.jpg

20140303-210420.jpg
The backing fabric is Belly Laugh Turquoise from the Ticklish line by Me & my Sister Designs. It’s perfect!!

20140303-211909.jpg
I had no plan going in to the quilting. Isn’t that what they call ‘organic quilting’? So, I just did what came to mind as I got to different parts of the top. I love the end result.

20140303-212023.jpg
Linking up with the Virtual Quilting Bee Link party. Be sure to stop by and check out all the wonderful creations. Amy has all the block tutorials available on her blog as well. Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Virtual Quilting Bee – Purple Paradise

  1. So glad I got to see this one in person! Great finish, Lori.

  2. Jasmine says:

    Such a fun quilt. I love the colors and the unexpected layout.

  3. I love how the different colour choices in each person’s quilt totally change the finished product, but your layout is fantastically unique too!

  4. LOVE outside the box and your thinking turned these blocks into an awesome quilt!!

  5. Beautiful quilt and that thread is perfect for it!

  6. This quilt is so pretty and I’m so happy I got to see it in person. The colors are so vibrant and fun!

    Thanks so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    πŸ™‚ Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  7. Lindsey says:

    What a lovely finish, Lori! I love all that purple! You did a great job!

    Thank you for linking up to Fabric Frenzy Friday!
    -Lindsey
    Fabric Frenzy Friday

  8. This is a beautiful quilt! I love how you pieced it together – so different and cool!
    – Katelyn @ SingWhileCrafting

    • crossquilt says:

      You’ll be able to see it in person if you can make it to the April meeting. I am looking forward to seeing what you have been up to.

      Lori

      Sent from my iPad

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

