Surprise Packages

I did not get much sewing done this week. My sewing machine was quiet until Saturday. I spent some time organizing my fabric, doing a fabric pull for the Triangle Quilt Along that starts later this month, and tweaking the design of a quilt I am about to start.
Saturday came and I pulled out the March Sugar Block pattern and went to work. Amy Gibson named this one Explore with the ‘Beyond the Block’ challenge to try something new or something that is not in your normal schedule.
Here’s my block:

20140308-205327.jpg
My background fabric choice is the dark olive rather than a white or cream. I enjoy experimenting with color placement and creating combinations that really pop but still play nice together.

I also accepted an invitation to join a friend for an activity that I would have normally said ‘No’ to without any additional thought. I enjoyed myself even if it wasn’t my cup of tea. There are a few more activities this month that I would previously have shied away from but am planning on doing anyway. It’s a good way to expand my horizons and create new experiences.
In Saturday’s mail was a package from Craftsy.

20140308-211151.jpg
I was pretty sure that I was not expecting any fabric – not from Craftsy anyway. So, I just had to see what it was. Turns out that Craftsy sent me this canvas tote bag and a sweet note.

20140308-211409.jpg

20140308-211443.jpg
I think I may be shopping their fabric sales just a little too much these days. It’s definitely a sign to cut back. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Surprise Packages

  1. nsturgill says:

    Love the color combination!

  2. Carla Bynum says:

    Hi!!!! Love your block!!!! Great gift from Craftsy!!!! hugs carla

    never let fear stop you from dancing on the moon

    ________________________________

  3. ruthq2013 says:

    Wow! NIce when you get something in the mail you did not expect.

    ruth

  4. jacqui.sibthorpe says:

    striking fabric for your block, the design is good. well done!

  5. CeLynn says:

    Surprise packages are the best! Love the block,I would not have thought to use Olive. Looks great though!

  6. the olive background does look amazing! and aren’t surprise packages the best? love it! ps- it was so much fun to get to sew with you yesterday!

    Thanks for linking to Needle and Thread Thursday!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  7. Your block is lovely! I love the color combination! Surprise packages are always fun!

    Thank you for linking up to Fabric Frenzy Friday!
    -Lindsey
    Fabric Frenzy Friday

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

