Triangle Takeover

The sewing bug has hit me again and I have been pressing and cutting fabric like crazy.
I am working on a self-designed quilt that uses stripped triangles. So the first part of this one was to cut the strips.
20140329-173800.jpg
The fabric is High Street from Moda. It is bright, saturated, and gorgeous! This was from a quilt kit that I received for Christmas. I didn’t like the quilt pattern that was included so I designed my own. The background fabric that was included is Kona Zen Grey and it also came with some orange for the binding.
Then I pieced 3 random strips together until I ran out of strips.
20140329-174500.jpg
I then cut those strips into triangles.

20140329-182309.jpg
I’m still working out the cutting measurements for the rest of the block. So, more to come….

I, once again, gave in to a Craftsy sale. I bought another Free Spirit Fat Quarter Box at a wonderful price. This one was a huge SCORE! Here come the photos:
20140329-175535.jpg So far so good. It’s such a pretty package already. I took it out and sorted it and it was even better than I expected.20140329-175651.jpg Wishing Well by Janean Morrison – it’s got to be close to the whole line.
20140329-175956.jpg A bunch of Lottie Da.

20140329-181600.jpg And some random prints.
I have no idea what I’m going to do with any of it.

Back to triangles……I also cut out an over abundance of triangles for the Triangle Quilt Along.

20140329-184523.jpg
So, over 350 triangles later, I am ready to start piecing some of this together.

14 thoughts on “Triangle Takeover

  1. carla bynum says:

    Wow!!!! That is a lot of triangles!!!! I am doing the triangle quilt too!!!!! Mine are not cut yet!!!! All of your fabric is beautiful!!!! It will be so fun to see all of these triangle quilts!!!!! Keep having fun!!!!!

  2. Mara says:

    I have always wondered if those boxes were worth the money, it looks pretty good!

    • crossquilt says:

      This one was a really good one. I really like about 90% of the fabric. The last Free Spirit one I bought was more like 75% of the fabric. It is a little bit of ‘hit or miss’ but I enjoy taking the chance. Free Spirit puts out great fabric lines so the odds are pretty good that it will be something I like and will use.

  3. I always wondered what was in those mystery boxes. Nice.

  4. Natasha says:

    What a great box of fabric you scored!! I didn’t even know they did that. Love the fabric for your triangle quilt, it will look just beautiful when it is finished.

  5. tonijosews says:

    Uh oh. Now that I know how good those mystery boxes can me, I could be in serious danger! πŸ˜€

  6. Jules says:

    Wow, what a beautiful lot of fabric. How brave of you to unpack it. I bought myself a fat quarter bundle and all I’ve done so far is stroke it!

  7. linda says:

    Wow! great selection of fabrics. Looking forward to seeing more of the triangle quilt, Linda

  8. Shannon says:

    Wow, what pretty fabrics for your triangle quilt. So bright and sunny.

  9. Barb N says:

    Those boxes are a great way to have Instant Stash! You did well. Love all your triangles. I am doing the triangle QAL but still need to get them cut out. My fabric is ironed, though. One step at a time.

  10. sarah elizabeth :: {no} hats says:

    My my that’s quite a bit of fabric you’ve got there! Gorgeous!

  11. Vicki in MN says:

    It is gonna be so yummy!!

  12. I am so fond of High Street! You are right, the colors are just so vibrant! I think that’s what I love most about that fabric! I can’t wait to see what you do with those triangles!

    Thank you for linking up to Fabric Frenzy Friday!
    -Lindsey
    Fabric Frenzy Friday

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

