Early April Work-in-Progress

Works in progress. Seems like most of my projects have this status at the moment. First up is the Triangle Quilt Along quilt. This week is when triangles become rows.

20140405-124058.jpg
I knew that if I laid these triangles on the floor, to decide on my layout and design, that I would have to redo it over and over again because the cats would invariably rearrange them with their sliding on the pretty fabric. It’s their favorite game. 🙂
I don’t have room for a full-fledged design wall in my sewing space. I looked around and saw an area that might work on a smaller scale. The closet door! Light bulb moment. I draped some batting over the top of the door like this. The unfinished top of the door keeps the batting in place.

20140405-124530.jpg

20140405-130949.jpg
The door still shuts with no issues. Ta-da!! It was so exciting. So, I put some triangles up. No pinning. So awesome! The door will fit 4 rows of 17 triangles.

20140405-124725.jpg
The QAL calls for 12 rows, therefore repeat 3 times. Finished rows I pinned on the back of the door inside the closet on the overhang of the batting. The cats aren’t even messing with it. It’s wonderful. I’m so excited to have at least a small little design wall.
So, I have a few rows done and it looks so cool. I’m incredibly happy with the color palette for this quilt.

20140405-125153.jpg
Second WIP is my Diamond Delight quilt using High Street by Moda.

20140405-125407.jpg
The triangles are all cut. I’m just working on cutting and attaching the grey background. I’ve had to tweak the pattern and am still working out some bugs but I like how it’s coming together.

20140405-125805.jpg
Third WIP is a Disappearing Nine Patch using Sunnyside by Kate Spain. The backing fabric came in and I just need to piece that together and baste and quilt and bind it. There’s a lot left to do.

20140405-130137.jpg
The only new stash I have this week came from #thegreatfabricdestash on Instagram. It’s a couple pieces of Joel Dewberry Heirloom and one piece of Kate Spain Terrain.

20140405-130415.jpg
Let’s see how this all fares at the end of April. I doubt I’ll have a finish but I should make plenty of piecing progress.

15 thoughts on “Early April Work-in-Progress

  1. carla bynum says:

    Hi!!!! Looks great!!!! I love your fabrics!!!! Having some space for layout is great!!!!!

  2. Your layout looks great and I LOVE the colors! Being able to have a space, not the floor, makes a world of difference doesn’t it? Brilliant aha moment!! 🙂

  3. Joanna says:

    I have the same problem with cats on the floor lol. My design wall isn’t big enough (and is covered in other things) so I decided to just do mine kind of scrappy and random

  4. Your triangle quilt is looking sew good! Great solution to your design wall dilemma. And your diamond delight WIP is beautiful too!

  5. Love the yellow, black and white…one of my fav combos. Stopping by from Sunday Stash linky.

  6. orooni says:

    Love the choice of gray background for diamond delight!

  7. Conni says:

    I love the colours in your triangles, something about the yellow and grey combo that I love!!

  8. Natasha says:

    There is not a fabric here that I would not love, great choices. Your Disappearing Nine Patch is awesome and will look spectacular when finished.

  9. I love the color palette you picked out for your TriangleQAL. Yellow and gray is one of my favorite combinations. Your diamond quilt is looking great too. Looking forward to seeing your finished projects.

  10. msminnesota says:

    I love your Triangle QAL fabric selection. And that was pretty ingenious to use the door as your design wall…smart thinking! Can’t wait to see your disappearing 9-patch – love those!

  11. Maria says:

    I use a door for a design wall too! I love the fabric you’re using for the diamond delight.

  12. I too love how your triangle colors are coming together. this is going to be an adorable finish!!!

  13. CeLynn says:

    Nice temporary design wall,and the rows are looking great! The Diamond Delight is so pretty.

  14. The QAL is really stunning!
    LeeAnna Paylor
    lapaylor.blogspot.com

  15. Jessica says:

    Great fabrics! I love your “back of the door trick”. 🙂

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

