The Birds and the Bees

I missed the last link-up for the Triangle Quilt Along over at the Sassy Quilter. It was a very busy week and I didn’t get my top done until Saturday. But, I now have the top done and the backing finished and I am incredibly pleased with both. Here’s how it all started:

20140419-203022.jpg
I started piecing the rows together in sections. Quadrants work better for me than rows when piecing large sections. I tend to be a bit more precise that way.
So, I pieced the left rows together 4 at a time then the right side ones. I joined the left to the right. This was done in 3 sections. My points are not perfect but some of them came out pretty good.

20140419-203831.jpg

20140419-203845.jpg
And some did not.

20140419-203917.jpg
Oh well, you can’t really tell in the big picture.

It was a gorgeous day out so I took this top outside for some glamour shots.

20140419-204619.jpg

20140419-204650.jpg
I had stopped at Joann’s on the way home from work and found these lovelies to use as the backing.

20140419-204828.jpg
It turned out great. I’ve been trying to think of a name for this quilt and as I was sewing this backing together it just hit me. The Birds and the Bees. The sweetest bees on the front and those birds on the back Perfect!

20140419-205018.jpg
Now, I need to do the basting. Which is the part I continuously put off and the reason I have more quilt tops than finished quilts. This time I have a great excuse. How in the world could I have disturbed this?

20140419-205223.jpg

12 thoughts on “The Birds and the Bees

  1. It looks fabulous! I hope I get to see it in person in a few weeks.

  2. Your top is beautiful! I don’t think I would have disturbed the sleeping beauty either . . . You will get it done! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. knottygnome says:

    gorgeous quilt! love the spots of orange here and there.

  4. michelle says:

    Your kitty is adorable! This happens at my house, too — and you just CAN’T move them! I love your triangles quilt, the fabrics are wonderful.

  5. The top looks great. And I wouldn’t worry too much about having some points that don’t match. I just finished my quilt, and I have quite a few that don’t line up like they should. I’m also glad to see that I’m not the only one who’s quilting projects revolve around what the cat is currently laying on.

  6. Oh that Triangle QAL! So tempting. Your finished top looks great, very precise triangles and I like the colour palette!

  7. Beautiful job, I so love the black and yellow together ๐Ÿ™‚

    Stopping by from Lee’s WIP hop http://www.domesticdeficitdisorder.blogspot.com/2014/04/wip-wednesday-april-23rd.html

  8. Rachel says:

    I like that one bright orange square. Very fun!

  9. Shauna says:

    ohhh my that cat is too cute. I have a dog that loves to lay on my quilts. Any time I’m ironing or working on them where he can get to them, he plops down and goes to sleep.

  10. oh, your points look a LOT better than mine!! Can’t wait to see it at the meeting next week!

    Thanks so much for linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday!

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  11. I’ve been so inspired by all the Triangle quilts that I am going to start my own. I’ve never pieced triangles like this before. I decided to starch well to make my fabric more crisp. I hope it helps.
    I love your pop of orange. Well done!

    • crossquilt says:

      Starching is one of the steps that Paula gave during the quilt-along. Her instructions are great so look back at her previous posts and join the Triangle party.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

