April Finishes

I’ve got a couple of finishes to share this week. First is the Birds and the Bees Triangle Quilt. I cleared the space on my dining room floor and taped it down to pin baste. While the space was all cleared, I did another quilt as well but that’s for another post.
I quilted the same as The Sassy Quilter did on her initial triangle quilt post – 1/4 inch from the seam on all the triangles.

20140425-080449.jpg
Then I machine bound with strips of the dot fabric that I used throughout this quilt top. This was my first time binding a quilt in this manner. I am self-taught and have used the fold over from the back method on all of my previous quilts. It was the first way I learned and I stuck with it. It was simple and there were no extra steps involved other than making sure the backing fabric also looked good when folded over to the front.
So I cut my dot fabric into 2 1/2 in inch strips and sewed them together until it was long enough to go around the quilt. I folded and pressed and attached to the quilt top using the same technique I followed for the next featured project in this post and some tips I got from Kelly at My Quilt Infatuation.
It was my first go at a separate binding fabric and I like how it turned out and I think I got those mitered corners to work out.

20140425-081159.jpg

20140425-231344.jpg
I’m happy with this quilt. I love the colors, the pattern, the quilting. I just love the whole thing!

20140425-212259.jpg

My second project was the Sew Together Bag from Sew Demented. I purchased my pattern on Craftsy. I followed the Sew-along at The Quilt Barn as well as the instructions on the pattern. Using both together really helped me understand the process of making this bag.
I had someone in mind when I started this project and found the Glamping line by Moda. It was perfect! I just knew she would love it.

20140425-210304.jpg
Put the inside together – check.

20140425-210533.jpg
The sides – check.

20140425-211311.jpg
The top zipper added, bound and completed – check.

20140425-211419.jpg
I love how it turned out and so does she! There are definitely more of these in my future.

20140425-211545.jpg

17 thoughts on “April Finishes

  1. Love your finish, especially those few pops of red.

  2. Your quilt is super fun. I love the pop of red. And that bag is awesome too. Congrats on the finishes.

  3. Wow, the bag looks amazing! I also like your triangle quilt. My daughter’s name is Bea so I love anything with bees:)

  4. Beautiful quilt finish!!! I love it. And your mitered corners look amazing. I can’t believe that is your first time binding that way. I also am in like with your sew-together bag. It is fabulous. That PP flower is crazy cool!
    – Katelyn @ Sing While Crafting

  5. CeLynn says:

    A wonderful finished quilt,and those pops are perfect! That bag is amazing,love it!

  6. msminnesota says:

    Love this! Congrats on a beautiful finish!

  7. Kristyn says:

    I like your camper fabric as we have a retro Boler camper and I always love seeing fabric with campers on it.

  8. trkingmomoe says:

    The quilt is wonderful. The trailer fabric is really cute. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Jeifner says:

    That Glamping line is great. Love the feather on the side! Nicely done on the bag and the triangle quilt that backing bird fabric is perfect!

  10. Heidi says:

    Love the splashes of red in your quilt – very fun!

  11. Great job on your first binding of this type- the corners look excellent!

  12. Renee says:

    What a fun sew together bag! And great triangle quilt too!

  13. I love the colours in your triangle quilt…great job! And that little bag is very cool ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. SewingWilde says:

    Love the fabrics in your quilt, are they all one designer or a mix? Just beautiful

  15. your triangle quilt looks amazing, Lori! the pops of red are really unexpected and fun! bravo to you on trying a new binding method. It’s always fun to learn something new.

    Thank you so much for partying at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

