Stash Build – April ’14

The One With The Intrepid Thread

I know it’s May but this Stash Build took place in April so I’m going with that. On vacation last week, I was able to make a jaunt out to The Intrepid Thread in Milpitas. I grew up in that area so knew that I should be able to get there during my visit.

I will say that it was a trip not wasted! Look at this haul!

20140503-182111.jpg
Everyone was so nice and helpful. I took one of my besties and her 5yr old daughter, well they took me. Both are non-sewers but that didn’t stop them from acquiring some fabric of their own. My niece picked out this lovely piece as her inspiration fabric and she did not let it go for hours. So sweet!

20140503-182824.jpg
She grabbed some bright greens and cerise colors to go with it. She coordinated the colors herself. I was so proud! Her momma picked up a few pieces as well. I told them both to send the fabric to me and I would make something if they could not get something made themselves.

Now to my haul – I seemed to be drawn to greens, blues, and teals that day. Go figure. I picked up this Sphere fat quarter bundle.

20140503-183252.jpg
This bundle has those greens and turquoises that I fell in love with that day.

20140503-183415.jpg
I got some random half-yard cuts that include fabrics from these lines – Barcelona, Fun and Games, Littlest (that’s the texty one) and Tule.

20140503-183829.jpg
Here’s 2 from a different place on the color wheel.

20140503-184036.jpg
Architextures Crosshatch in Tangerine and Matilda – Flowers in Mocha

Then I grabbed a few random fat quarters.

20140503-184334.jpg
Don’t you just love those butterflies!
I currently have no plans for this stash but I believe my brain does since all those teals and blues coordinate pretty well.

We all loved our visit to The Intrepid Thread and I can’t wait to get back. There’s something about being in a shop and seeing, touching, and stroking the fabric that you just can’t get online. We had a ball and started those creative juices flowing. It’s going to be great seeing what develops with what we bought.

10 thoughts on “Stash Build – April ’14

  1. Gorgeous group of stuff πŸ˜€ Blues and greens are always my favourites, especially in the aqua, turquoise, teal range.

  2. Jess says:

    Nice haul! It does look like you have the makings of a quilt there!

  3. I’m jealous of your shopping trip! That kind of shopping is always fun πŸ™‚ Thanks for linking up to Anything Goes Monday!

  4. Oh, I love those Sphere fabrics! It is important to have a good stash–when some super quilt pattern catches your eye, you will be ready.

  5. So many gorgeous fabrics, Lori!! That Sphere bundle is calling my name!

    Thanks so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    πŸ™‚ Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  6. Erica says:

    Those are some beautiful fabrics! I love the butterflies! So jealous!

  7. eva says:

    Oh, the green bundle is lovely! Can’t wait to see what you make with it.

  8. Lovely additions to your stash! πŸ™‚ I also am drawn to blues and greens πŸ™‚

    Thank you for linking up to Fabric Frenzy Friday!
    -Lindsey
    Fabric Frenzy Friday

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

