Brick by Brick

I recently finished a baby quilt to give to a friend for her cousin. I have never met my friend’s cousin but her story touched my heart.

She is in her late 20s and has a 9 year old son from an old relationship. She is the type that never gets a break – broken home growing up, in and out of relationships with those that don’t deserve her, etc. From what I have heard she is a good person with a good heart. She works full-time at a small town bank and within the last year or 2 she met and married the love of her life. All was right in the world. She was in love and pregnant with her second child. She is currently about 7 1/2 months along. About a month ago her husband committed suicide and left her alone. She’ll have to raise 2 children basically by herself. She has joint custody of her oldest child but now no one to help with the baby.

She has been overly stressed since the incident and the pregnancy may be at risk due to her current emotional state. My friend stated that her cousin had nothing yet for the baby. I felt I should help in some way. I didn’t have any baby stuff in the gift closet – time to restock that, right? So, I decided to make her a quilt for the baby. The doctor has determined that it will be a boy.

I recently purchased some Giraffe Crossing by Riley Blake from #thegreatfabricdestash on Instagram and the colors are just perfect for the design I was thinking of.

20140516-151321.jpg

Browns, oranges, yellows, muted blues. I mixed it up with some boy-centric fabrics I had in my stash that have dinaosaurs, tools, numbers, and letters. Don’t you just love this chalkboard print?

20140516-152624.jpg

I chose a brick pattern using 4 1/2 x 9 1/2 inch bricks and spaced the colors out to make sure I wasn’t doubling up on anything. I backed it with dark brown Minkee and quilted with Stitch-in-the-Ditch. That Minkee is just divine and so soft and cuddly.

20140516-152031.jpg

I gave it to my friend to give to her cousin and I hope she is somehow comforted during this horrible time in her life.

20140516-152139.jpg

I’m entering this quilt over at the Blogger’s Quilt Festival – small quilt category – so be sure to head over there and vote starting on May 23rd.

20140516-153649.jpg

20140516-153704.jpg

13 thoughts on “Brick by Brick

  1. myhobobunny says:

    What a lovely thing to do for her

  2. I adore your quilt! What a beautiful thing to do! I would love to send along baby, mommy and brother items. Please feel free to email me so that we can help this mom feel less alone 🙂

  3. Joanna says:

    What a horrible circumstance. It’s really sweet of you to make this lovely quilt for her. The minky on the back looks nice and cuddly!

  4. AnnieO says:

    What a wonderful baby quilt for that deserving mom–you are generous! Best wishes to the baby boy to be. Thanks for sharing your quilt’s story.

  5. citricsugar says:

    It’s a lovely quilt – I hope it brings them comfort!

  6. Sweet, I am suppose to be doing a baby quilt right now.. stopping by from the linky stash report.

  7. sdaurio says:

    What a beautiful quilt. I’m certain it will warm her heart.

  8. Ruth says:

    It’s gorgeous, has a lovley warm & cuddly feel to it. She will love it I’m sure.

  9. Maryse says:

    Very nice, I am sure it will be appreciated.

  10. Olga says:

    I love it! Beautiful work!

  11. Such a cute quilt. A sad story that goes with it, but I hope it does does bring her a bit of comfort – to know that she is loved, even by strangers. I will be keeping her and her children in my prayers.
    – Katelyn @ Sing While Crafting

  12. I love how the quilt turned out–you are so kind to do this for her. I hope that it will give her some comfort at such a difficult time.

    Thank you for linking up to Fabric Frenzy Friday!
    -Lindsey
    Fabric Frenzy Friday

  13. Sarah Goer says:

    A very sad story, but your quilt is wonderful. I love the variety of fun prints that you used. I’m sure it will be cherished.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

