Wavelength in progress

I started my Wavelength quilt. I’m going to do dark teal/aqua on the inside and flow out to light aqua/white.

20140607-162742.jpg
I printed out the 100 plus paper piecing patterns that I will need for the lap size design. I’ve got about 3 rows/columns complete. While working on those rows I have realized that I will not have enough fabric color variation to do the plan as I want. Though I LOVE what it looks like right now!

20140607-163147.jpg

Darn – that means I will have to do some fabric shopping. Tell me it isn’t so. It’s just so burdensome exciting! :-). I have found that it is difficult to determine aqua/teal colors online. I found some fabrics on Etsy that I thought would work for the darker teals that I currently need. The color states teal or peacock and the photos showed a color that would flow well in this design. They were delivered today and are more of a green variety than teal and will not work as intended.

20140607-164611-60371564.jpg
I still love these fabrics but they won’t work for the intended color flow of this quilt. But, you just can’t go wrong with some Bike Path, Urban Mod, Comma, Grand Hotel, Felicity, or Chicopee. There is a lot of yumminess in this bundle.

The 3 fabrics on the right, in this next photo, are already going to work in the quilt and were what I was trying to match. The values are just a little bit off.

20140607-164613-60373162.jpg
I’m going to have to actually go to the store with some scraps to match up the colors better. I don’t think the online thing is going to work as well unless I decide to get more of the patterns/colors that I already have.

I’m excited to continue working on this. More progress to follow as long as I can get the fabric thing worked out. πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Wavelength in progress

  1. Joanna says:

    If I’m looking for a specific colour, I usually check out a few different sites (including the manufacturers website) to see if I can find any differences to see if it is the colour I want!

  2. Shauna says:

    It is so hard to buy online at times, but you’re right what you got was quite wonderful, even if it isn’t exactly what you needed.

  3. tonijosews says:

    I have found those colors to be particularly difficult to shop for online, as well. My MIL’s favorite colors are “deep teal and true red.” I ordered a selection of what I hoped qualified as deep teal and (in spite of the fact that they all appeared to be the same value in their online photos) some of them were VERY green. I did the same thing as you, though, and celebrated an excuse to go shopping! πŸ™‚

  4. Kacey W. says:

    I agree that teals and aquas are tricky online – so sad that now you have more fabric shopping to do! πŸ˜‰ I have a similar bundle of colors waiting to be stitched up.

  5. jayne Willis says:

    Love that design! Its going to be gorgeous!

  6. Jeifner says:

    I think that you could post about the fabrics you were thinking about buying and have readers show you pics of them “in real life”. I know I’d be willing to that if I had any that you were thinking of. Or have people comment about the shade if they’ve seen them in person. Still, lovely fabrics πŸ™‚

  7. Rachel says:

    Teal doesn’t always come through online I think. It’s very easy to get something too blue or too green. Love what you have up on your design wall though. Very pretty.

  8. This quilt is going to be wonderful!

  9. Cindy says:

    I love buying fabric online, but it is hard to match sometimes…

  10. I love your fabric choices! Blues and greens are my favorite and those prints are so fun. That quilt is going to look amazing and the start already does!

  11. Cassandra says:

    Stunning colour gradation!! Really love it. One day I will master paper-piecing and then I will have to make this quilt!!

  12. This quilt is going to be so awesome, and those colors are amazing!

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    πŸ™‚ Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  13. Kate Yates says:

    I love the color scheme–I know what you mean about the challenge in matching shades of teal. I am working on an aqua/blue/green quilt, and it’s much more challenging to match my stash fabrics than I thought it would be. I love the color gradation and pattern you’re using, I’m sure it will look awesome!

  14. kaits says:

    What is the top fabric you have that is just black and white with flowers? I think that is what it is. Looks perfect for my daughters new bedding i want to sew?

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

