Waves, Shades, and Pouches

I finally got my hands on some Architextures text and ledger prints!

20140622-090757-32877263.jpg
As an Accountant, I absolutely love that ledger print and can’t wait to see how I will use it.

One more row was added to the Wavelength quilt. We’re moving into the green section so it’s really coming to life.

20140622-090805-32885183.jpg

I made a Cordless Roman Shade for my front room window – which is 1 inch shy of a standard width. It’s an Amy Butler home decor print and is perfect for the room. I found the tutorial here.

20140622-090758-32878828.jpg

My nieces are in town and I put them behind the sewing machine for their first time. I showed them how to try and keep the line straight with the 1/4 in foot and let them go giving verbal instructions as they moved along. They both made zipper pouches with fabric of their choice. As we know, there is a lot of fabric to choose from.
My oldest niece was inspired by a Mickey Mouse ribbon that we found at a local craft store. So we went with black, yellow, and red to use with it. This pattern came off of Craftsy. It’s the Reversible tote and Zipper pouch free class.

20140622-090800-32880589.jpg

Her sister chose to go with chevrons and polka dots in an aqua tone and use a different design.

20140622-090802-32882018.jpg
Both bags turned out so cute! They each did about 75% of the sewing themselves. I’m so proud of them and they both love their pouches. With the weather sitting at ‘feels like 96’, it was a good day for indoor crafting!

20140622-090803-32883453.jpg
My sewing room will be put back together tomorrow and I have a few more days off to get some sewing done before I need to go back to work.

13 thoughts on “Waves, Shades, and Pouches

  1. mlwilkie says:

    I also picked up more of the architextures this week. Who can resist 🙂

  2. We must have had one mind for this Sunday Stash!

  3. Nice job with the pouches. I love all the Architexture prints, but that ledger one is fab. Appeals to the paper crafter in me as well.

  4. Cathy says:

    Love the Architexture prints!!! I picked up a few text prints this week but now I feel like I need to track those down too! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Mary says:

    You can’t beat Architexture – I’ve had a FQ bundle for a while and only just cut in to it! thanks for linking up

  6. Yeah, two new sewists! And I love the ledger print : )

  7. Jeifner says:

    Oh man, I love that text and the ledger. But mostly the text. It seems to be the perfect size type. The shade looks good and so do their pouches.

  8. Stacey says:

    The Wavelengths quilt is beautiful – love the colours! The text prints and ledger prints are great, too, I hadn’t seen those before.

  9. Audrey says:

    I really love the Wavelengths quilt pattern, and yours looks great! Also, jealous about the Architextures! 🙂

  10. Michelle says:

    I have the wave length pattern and it’s on my to-do list, but I absolutely love how yours is going!

  11. I love architectures! I don’t have any. lol. But I love it. The ledger has always been a fav of mine too (perhaps its my OCD list making tendencies that make me love it so). And your wavelength quilt is gorgeous!!!!

  12. The Sassy Quilter says:

    How fun! I love those text prints. Can’t wait to see what you do with the ledger, too cool. What a fun thing to make those pouches too. Oh, and the wavelength is awesomeeeee!

  13. Kathy S says:

    Love the Mickey Mouse print on the pouch! That ledger print is awesome. Keep up the great work on the Wavelength quilt. I have that Accuquilt die and don’t know what to do with it yet. This gives me ideas.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

