Random Roundup #4

There’s been a lot more relaxing and a lot less sewing going on over here since my days off last week. I’ve gotten a few things accomplished but no one project has gotten a lot of attention. Here’s what I’ve done:

Sugar Block Club – I posted the June block here but never posted the first 6 blocks all together.
IMG_1567
I also already completed the July block.

20140705-171542.jpg

Pouches – I made 2 pouches – one that I will post next week and one that I made for an employee of mine that is transferring departments. She’s the one person at work that wants to see all this stuff I create. She makes jewelry so we have a crafting mutual respect for each other. I used a free pattern that I found on Craftsy. I used a Home Decor print remnant for the outside. I learned to use a larger seam allowance when using this particular piece of fabric. There was a little fraying on some of the areas of the bag. I have enough of the fabric left over and will be making some pillows so I will use a larger allowance for those.IMG_1614
IMG_1615
IMG_1618
I might use a stiffer interface or some fusible fleece next time I make this. I think it needs a little more structure. Anyway – she loved it! She’s already got plans for how she will use it.

Random Blocks for bigger projects – A third Memory block. This one is from the second quilt I ever made.
IMG_1578
I talked about the inspiration for this quilt in this post. I have more fabrics pulled but not sewn together yet.

I started the Mini-Medallion Quiltalong over on Clover and Violet in association with SewLux. This is my fabric pull:
IMG_1596
The center block is just so cute. All the information can be found on Clover and Violet’s blog .
IMG_1597
The first border pattern got released today. I can’t wait to see what it is and get started sewing it up.

While I was relaxing, I took advantage of Swim, Bike, Quilt’s moving destash on Instagram and picked up some wonderful fabrics.

20140705-171454.jpg
I was so happy to be able to snag those text prints!
I also got a few more items from #thegreatfabrcidestash on Instagram.IMG_1583
There’s some Essex Linen in Olive in that bunch of loveliness. I can’t wait to find something great to use it in. That grouping also included 2 pieces of Wee Gallery, Terrain by Kate Spain, and Circa 1934.
Now, I’ve got to pop back over to Clover and Violet and see what that first border looks like.

3 thoughts on “Random Roundup #4

  1. Such a cute pouch for your coworker. I love the colors in the fabric and think it will make a nice pillow too! The little glass bead that says handmade – is it glued on or is it a button? It’s a nice touch. I’m very new to instagram and my eyes lit up when you said you got fabric through that avenue. Do you just search fabric destash? And thanks for linking up to Anything Goes Monday!

  2. Carol says:

    OMG!!! Love all those text prints! They are gorgeous!!!

  3. trkingmomoe says:

    Everything is just lovely.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

