Birds and the Bees Pillow

At my most recent guild meeting, we had a English Paper Piecing lesson and were asked to bring some scraps to work with. I decided I needed a pillow to go with my Birds and the Bees quilt. So, I brought some yellow, black, and gray scraps and was able to get a few done while at the meeting.

20140719-175726.jpg
I decided to do a small cluster and added some small triangles that I sewed into hexies and a couple of random triangles as well. I zig-zag appliqued the pieces onto the gray background fabric. I love how this turned out!

20140719-180136.jpg

Earlier in the week, I created some hoop art with my favorite fabric: Polka Dot Stitches by Lori Holt for Riley Blake designs.

20140719-180517.jpg
I took some variegated colored threads and stitched around the stitch diagrams. This fabric just showcases the beginnings of my stitching journey that I experienced as a child. I keep buying it and hate to cut into it in any way. So, I thought I’d make it a feature piece in my sewing room.

On that train of thought: I found the Polka Dot Stitches fat quarter bundle on #thegreatfabricdestash and I just had to have it. I hadn’t seen the rest of the bundle and I was very pleasantly surprised when I received it and was able to open it up. I love them all!

20140719-181635.jpg
The text prints are definitely my favorite but this red color story is the grouping that I love most:

20140719-181829.jpg
It included some solids, some large gingham, and some adorable large prints. I’m not sure how I’ll use them but there may be another Sew Together Bag in my future.

I’m also working on a block that I will be making into a mini and I hope to share that soon. Until then – happy sewing!

3 thoughts on “Birds and the Bees Pillow

  1. Your pillow is fantastic! Love the hexies and triangles. Polka Dot Stitches is definitely a gorgeous line of fabrics. Glad you found it on the Great Destash!

  2. Catherine says:

    I love the Birds and Bees pillow, it’s really eye catching. Good luck with your stitching too- it is years since I did anything like that. I’m visiting via Sew Cute Tuesday from South Wales, UK

  3. Deana says:

    Great fat quarter bundle! I like how there is so much variety in the set. Thanks for sharing.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

