How Lori got her Groove back

I’ve been in a sewing slump for about a month. I would periodically sew but it was small and quick. The projects I began earlier in the year have been hanging out on my design wall getting lonely. Poor, neglected Wavelength quilt. I miss you.

20140809-180229-64949534.jpg
I created a foundation paper-pieced design and have yet to write up the pattern so I can share it all with you.

20140809-180354-65034168.jpg
So, how do you get your sewing mojo back? Mine came back full-force this week. The catalyst: project deadlines. You see – the Wavelength quilt and my Cropduster design are for me. There are no deadlines on projects for my home or to enhance the beauty of my space.
However, there are deadlines for a project for my quilt guild. We are making preemie quilts for the NICU at LeBonheur Children’s Hospital and they are due at our next meeting early in September.
I received some Charm Pack happy mail this week and knew the Here Boy! charm pack was the way to go for one of the preemie quilts.

IMG_0017.JPG
It has bones, bouncing balls, and bright primary colors. It’s perfect for this project. I made the quilt 27×40 so I may have to trim it down a little if I want it to be 1/2 crib size. I used 9-patch blocks so the fabrics would be the focus.

IMG_0023.JPG
I backed it with flannel and did not use any batting. I stumbled upon a blog post written by the mother of a preemie and she uses that combination for quilts that she and her daughter make for donations. It doesn’t match the front at all but it is so cute!

IMG_0045.JPG
I’m going to wait to bind it until I decide on the proper finished size.
All of my block of the month blocks came out last week so I have a few more blocks to work on. I’m also working on some other random projects. I signed up for the Kitty Mini Quilt Swap. I figured it would be a good challenge and it sounded like a lot of fun.
The minis need to have cat shapes or cat fabric in them. I immediately got online and bought some fabric. Of course I needed to do that. This is a speciality swap. πŸ™‚

IMG_0040.JPG
Every cat themed quilt this year must have Catnap in it somewhere and the other bundle is Here Kitty Kitty. Hawthorne Threads had each of these bundles at a great price.
This mouse print is my favorite of the Catnap line.

IMG_0041.JPG
I’ve already got a plan to get the Nested Churn Dash Block.

IMG_0047.PNG
But, that may change if I want to focus on the fabric more. The deadline for this is the end of September so I need to make a decision soon.
I’m so happy to be back at my sewing machine and actually feeling productive when I’m there. Lots of projects coming up in the next month or two. I’m excited!

11 thoughts on “How Lori got her Groove back

  1. Super glad your mojo is back, love the block, look forward to the pattern πŸ™‚ Love the text charm squares. Enjoy the new found mojo πŸ™‚

  2. Catnap is such a fun line of fabrics, isn’t it? Those mice on bikes are just awesome.

  3. Glad to hear you got your mojo back! Love the Cat Nap fabric and the Figures pre cuts. Nice!

  4. Glad you found your sewing groove again… sometimes it just goes on a little vacation. Isn’t it amazing what a little deadline can do, especially when one is sewing for someone in need?

  5. Maryse says:

    I am glad you got your sew-jo back…I am still trying to get mine back…but I have been hand quilting…does that count?
    One way to get it back and it usually do the trick for me…Is to clean my sewing place. πŸ™‚

  6. Rachel says:

    Deadlines can be pretty helpful. Unfortunately I have deadlines right now and somehow my sewing mojo is still on vacation anyway. I’m glad you got yours back! I will likely get back in the groove when fall comes around. πŸ™‚ I really like the block you designed!

  7. hooray for getting your groove back- i think we all go thru those phases!

  8. Glad you’re back in the groove! Can’t wait to see the pattern!

  9. sfredett says:

    Hurray for the return of sewjo!!! πŸ˜€ The kitty swap is going to turn out adorable!

  10. Ruth says:

    Bee blocks usually get me going – the deadline thing again!

  11. knitnkwilt says:

    Deadlines work for me too. And I just finished a quilt for the neonatal unit for my guild. Due tomorrow. Turned in today. πŸ™‚ Resembles yours except your fabric is cuter. Our guild is always begging for boy-themed quilts. Your fabric fills the bill–they probably need them there too.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

