Swap-a-Rama

I mentioned in my last post that I entered my first swap: the Kitty Mini Quilt Swap. I have picked out my fabrics, which is a mix of Catnap and Chickopee. I polled some of the #kittyminiquiltswap mates about pattern selection and then went with a design not on the poll. I chose the Flowering Snowball block, made the templates, and started sewing.

IMG_0069.JPG
I went with 9 inch blocks in a 3 by 3 pattern. That makes the mini too big. I had already cut all the fabric pieces so I decided to just do half blocks for some of them to make it a 24″ square. It’s turning out so cute.

IMG_0078.JPG
I have until October to get everything together. After sewing I get to shop for some local goodies to ship to my partner with the mini. I’m already having so much fun participating.
The Instagram Mini Quilt Swap popped up and I told myself I wasn’t going to do it since I was already doing one. But then all these awesome quilters started joining up and I caved. The ship date isn’t until December so that gives me plenty of time and shouldn’t interfere with anything I have going on. This swap is international and could have up to 500 people signed up. The kitty one was limited to 60. So the Instagram Mini Quilt Swap is going to be epic! Entries are open until August 23rd so if you are interested in participating click the link above. I cannot wait to get my assigned partner’s info so I can start planning their mini.

Happy Mail came this week from the Intrepid Thread courtesy of Julie’s big clearance sale. I’ve been eying these for a while now.

IMG_0080.JPG
Stitch in a Square and Domino Dots.

IMG_0083.JPG

IMG_0081.JPG

IMG_0082.JPG
I passed them up when I was in the shop in April and have been dying to get some. The colors are all just gorgeous! I love that teal grouping of Stitch in a Square. Those bundles were not on clearance but these lovelies were:

IMG_0084.JPG
That’s Just my Type, Fun and Games by Riley Blake, and Bespoken by Art Gallery. I love the purples and olives swirled together.
Maybe some of these newbies will be included on the mini for my new swap partner. If you have not joined a swap you should. It is so much fun.

11 thoughts on “Swap-a-Rama

  1. Love all the fabrics, am a tad envious hahahhaha Cant wait to see what they become ๐Ÿ™‚ Ive never joined a swap, look and wonder but never do it :/

  2. imstudiolou says:

    What a lovely rainbow of fabrics! Gorgeous!

  3. knitnkwilt says:

    I have a couple of those domino prints–first I’ve seen all the colors together–Nice!

  4. That cat block looks amazing – wow!

    Love all the new fabric. I love those stitchy prints, and it’s so fun to see them all in one place like that.

  5. Love, love, love those Domino Dots! I think I had the same FQ pack… just cut into it last week! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Michelle C. says:

    Just My Type and Bespoken are especially beautiful. Thx for sharing your new acquisitions!

  7. Linden Vine says:

    I so love those Domino Dots! I also caved into the Instagram Swap; it’s going to be brilliant.

  8. Sarah Goer says:

    Such great fabrics! I used red stitch in a square on some clothes for my kids and the rest made it into the stash… just picked up some grey stitch in a square. Oh! I also got the just my type numbers. I too shopped Julie’s sale… but I forced myself to work solely on filling the gap of greys in my stash. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve been considering the IG Mini Swap, but haven’t pulled the trigger yet.

  9. Stacey says:

    I love that scrappy orange peel block! So cute! I haven’t joined a swap yet, I’ve never been sure how to join them but I’ll have to check it out on Instagram!

  10. Lucy says:

    Did you fussy cut your kitties? They’re perfectly placed on the pieces!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

