The One with the Giant Chucks

The gift has been given so the post can be written! I was so excited when I came across this sneaker block from Kristy @ Quiet Play, which was inspired by a request from the ever-sparkly Molli Sparkles.

IMG_0073.JPG
I knew this was the perfect pattern for one of my besties for her birthday. I made it in San Francisco Giants colors as that is her favorite baseball team. The orange and black also represent Halloween, which is her favorite holiday. The colors would be just right for her! Black with white dots for the shoe, black spiders for the tongues, and orange crosshatch for the laces was how I was going to go. I found this baseball fabric that would work so incredibly well for the background.

IMG_0028.JPG
You really cannot tell they are baseballs until you look really close. I downloaded a free logo and printed it on fabric sheets and then appliquéd it on in the negative space. I adore how this turned out and now I need one for myself. It’s the perfect size for the wall in their Giants themed guest room. She loves it!

IMG_0066.JPG

My mini for the Kitty Mini Quilt Swap is coming along wonderfully! I decided on a Flowering Snowball block in a 3×3 pattern. That came out a little too big, and I had already cut out all the pieces, so I opted for 1/2 blocks around 2 sides.

IMG_0122.JPG
I like it. Now I need to decide on a backing design.
I’m also putting together a small pouch as one of the goodies. I wanted to add some cross-stitch into the mix and came across this sweet cat.

IMG_0107.JPG
The fabric pull for the pouch includes some Essex Linen in Olive which will make up most of the pouch and some other colors, including cerise, orange, and dark teal, will be supporting players around the cat. This swap isn’t due until the beginning of October so I’m a little ahead of the game and pleased with progress so far.
This week’s stash additions include this Rainy Day bundle from Connecting Threads. I just love the green Wellies!

IMG_0115.JPG

IMG_0116.JPG
These next two were acquired when I bought the Catnap bundle from Hawthorne Threads. They are Pin Spin by Michael Miller Fabrics and Modernology by Art Gallery Fabrics. Both were in the clearance section at a great deal.

IMG_0120.JPG
These mini quilts are a little addictive! I must get back to my machine.

6 thoughts on “The One with the Giant Chucks

  1. I love the sandshoes block, am sure your friend oooheed and aahhhed over them 🙂 They are on my to do list along with so many others 😉

  2. Cathy says:

    Love that Rainy Day bundle. So cute!

  3. Gayle says:

    I love what you did with the Chucks. Such a good idea.

  4. Lara B. says:

    Hi Lori! I Love your sneakers! (Chucks) They look so cool, but they get even better when seeing all the details! Your friend must be delighted. Love your flowering snowball quilt too – the fabric mix is a real winner!

  5. Ann says:

    What a sophisticated mix of fabrics in your flowering snowballs. Great choices!

  6. You should enter your Snowball mini quilt into the Orange Peel Quilt A Long contest over on my blog… 🙂 It’s so cute! Minis have to be “finished” so if you finish it by Monday, feel free to link up!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

