Shopping your own Stash

I had been moving into this realm of thinking and two bloggers have helped me turn that corner and decide to go full-fledged in that direction. The first is Molli Sparkles with his post No Value does not Equal Free. Quilting is actually a very expensive hobby and especially so when all the new fabric comes out and it is all so gorgeous and the desire to have it ‘in my stash’ overrides the common sense of ‘I already have gorgeous fabrics that will do just fine.’ The cost of creating the beauty we all enjoy is high. Fabric prices are going up and the quilting community tends to lean toward a designer esthetic and make it seem that the big box fabric store fabrics are not good enough. Some big name designers design fabrics for those companies that are printed on quilting grade cotton. I shouldn’t feel as if I cannot feature them in a project on my blog or use them from time to time, especially if I can get them at 40% off and be able to use an additional 15% off coupon.

The second post was a very open and honest look at spending addiction by Diane at from blank pages. Her post hit home because I have struggled with debt and having to curb spending. I know I have plenty in my life and I really don’t need to add any more fabric to my stash or any more Vera Bradley bags to my closet. A good deal is no longer a good deal when you are spending money you don’t have.
I got myself out of a large amount of debt a few years back. I still have some but it is in a more manageable state. I pay cash whenever I can. I still live paycheck to paycheck but that could change, for the better, if I curbed my fabric buying. I need to save up for when my car dies in the next year or two. I want to have more money to travel and visit my friends more often. I want to be able to pay the bill outright if something in my 10 year old house breaks down. I’m going to make thoughtful purchases – purchases with a plan.

I’m going to start with my Instagram Miniswap quilt. I will be using fabrics exclusively from my stash for the front, back, and binding. I have enough fabric so it shouldn’t be much of a struggle to do that.
I will still share on Sunday Stash but it will be with fabric pulls rather than purchases.
Speaking of Sunday Stash – this is my most recent purchase. It is Hollywood Sparkle. The pink, black, and grey will be used for the outside of a Mary Kay inspired Sew Together bag. I already have some pink and black laminate to use for the inside and the pockets. I’ve been planning this one for awhile now.

IMG_0156.JPG

I used my own stash for this baby quilt top that was made for a guild charity project. It’s so sweet and pretty.

IMG_0160.JPG
The fabric is Spring Fling by Me and my Sister designs. I do need to stop at Joann’s to get flannel for the back since I don’t have any pinkish flannels in my stash. I will be using all the coupons that I can. 🙂

I was also able to get the backing done for the Kitty Mini Quilt Swap.

IMG_0153.JPG
My newest goal is to make thoughtful purchases. That Hollywood Sparkle bundle was in an online shopping cart for 3 weeks before I decided it was the perfect fabric for that project. Here’s to saving money for what I really need and not just what I want. Diane started the #shopyourownstash tag on Instagram and I plan on playing along.

7 thoughts on “Shopping your own Stash

  1. Good for you and good luck! I too was quite moved by both of those blog posts, and I hope to start getting my own bundles from my own stash together to show off!

  2. I have been saying these things for ages now. My thinking changed when I began a few years back sewing for charity, I am given a large box of donated fabric, I love the challenge of finding ways of making it work, but the sad part is this fabric was picked by someone for a project, they and probably their quilting buddies oohed and ahhed over it, they never got to use it. I could waffle on but I shant, look forward to seeing your cupboard creations 🙂

  3. Jan says:

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about this. I have felt the same way, and been really conflicted about the concept of stash. One of my more recent Sunday Stash posts talks a bit about this. I have since gone a little overboard with shopping, but each purchase had a plan. Anyway, I am going to be taking a look at the #tag you mentioned and find some more quilting friends.

  4. Thank you so much for sharing so openly.

  5. bkringel says:

    This is a good post Lori. I read the posts that you mentioned and also found them very thought provoking. My solution for me is that I made a list of projects that would be fun and can be made entirely from my stash. (I do need to buy batting but otherwise, should be good) The problem area could be backing fabrics. The post that I wrote today about a quilt top I finished this week mentions that I still need backing I did try very hard to get something to work from my stash but couldn’t. I think it is about being mindful and using the gorgeous pieces that we already have. Best of luck with using your collection of fabric!

  6. Teri says:

    Very informative post. I just retired so have been trying to limit my new purchases and sew projects from my stash.

  7. katie yoakum says:

    I love shopping my stash — I tried the fabric fast the first half of the year and that was kind of a wash but I have decided that something has got to change. My guilt comes from not having anywhere to store the fabric anymore and seeing things falling from the shelf because they aren’t properly put away. I found your blog through the Pen pal signups over at from blank pages — perhaps we can support each other during this time of shopping our stash, besides We’ve got great stuff in there. I’ve already decided that September is a no buy month for me and I’m hoping to extend that through the rest of the year.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

