Sewcation!

I now consider this last week my ‘sewcation.’ I had a week off from work and took the time to get a lot of sewing done! I tackled the Mini Medallion QAL , my Kitty Mini, my IG Mini Swap quilt, some swap goodies, and I started the Craftsy September Workshop quilt, which is being taught by Amy Gibson.

Mini Medallion QAL:
The third border was posted here recently. Small snowball blocks were constructed.

IMG_0220.JPG
Then they were added to the Medallion Center:

IMG_0225.JPG
By the way – I love how I accidentally, um, purposefully matched up this road:

IMG_0230.JPG

Kitty Mini Quilt Swap:
I quilted my kitty mini and got it bound. It is ready to send off to my partner. I had a little kitty help quilting it but the group doesn’t mind cat hair and most on Instagram wanted me to send the cat…

IMG_0304.JPG
I had the perfect fabric in my stash for the binding. (Right about now, my best friend is saying ‘Of course you did!’ I used to do the same thing with clothing. It drove her crazy….). Anyway, it really brings out all the colors on the quilt and I love it. All these minis are helping me practice my binding technique and I believe it is getting better.

IMG_0296.JPG

IMG_0295.JPG
I also made a notepad holder for 5×8 notepads using this tutorial to send along with the quilt as one of the goodies. I cross-stitched the cat and then framed it a little wonky-like on the cover of the notepad holder.

IMG_0307.JPG

IG Mini Swap quilt:
I wanted to play with my new Quick Curve Ruler and pulled out some fabric from my stash that might work for this mini. I kind of made it up as I went along. Four curved pieces and some corner squares left me with an opening in the middle of the quilt. I’d been drooling over the flying geese being made by @jeliquilts on Instagram and thought that the circular geese pattern would work out perfectly. So, to Craftsy I went to purchase her Juicy Goosey pattern. It worked superbly! I’m so happy with it.

IMG_0270.JPG
I added one more border outside the curved area and this top is done! I’m so ahead of the game, which is normally unlike me. I tend to like the pressure of a deadline and this one doesn’t have to ship until December. It’s so cool, I may just keep it. We’ll see.

Swap Goodies:
I used some Horizon Mini Charm squares to put together some of the Koozies that Fat Quarter Shop featured recently.

IMG_0284.JPG

IMG_0286.JPG
I’m not a coffee drinker but they worked well on my regular glasses as well. I have a few that sweat quite a bit and the Koozie really helped catch that liquid without becoming drenched. I will have to make a bunch more for Christmas gifts. I love that they can be completely personalized.

Craftsy September Quilting Workshop:
This is the fabric included in the Amy Gibson workshop at Craftsy:

IMG_0302.JPG

IMG_0303.JPG
Birch Farm by Joel Dewberry. The second photo shows my favorites of the bunch. The kit also included a few yards of white – which is so out of my comfort zone but it will be gorgeous. I got all my cutting done and started piecing some of the blocks.

IMG_0308.JPG
My sewcation is almost over and I’m sad about that but I got a lot accomplished, and without any new fabric purchases, and hope I stay on this quilty productivity path that I am currently on.

8 thoughts on “Sewcation!

  1. Wow you sure put some vacation time to great use 🙂 Congratulations on no fabric purchases 🙂

  2. I love that you were careful in the piecing and matched the road! The circle quilt is just wonderful! How will you quilt it? LeeAnna at not afraid of color

  3. Jan says:

    You’ve been very busy! I love the kitty quilt and the fabrics that you showcased at the end of the post. The linear designs are my favorites, the ones with the Joel Dewberry. I can’t wait to see what this becomes.

  4. Wow, you’ve got a lot going on. Love the kitty fabric and swap project, lucky partner. A sewcation sounds divine.

  5. Lin Marsh says:

    Sounds like you were a busy kitty momma. I think the change to cooler weather has me energized too.

  6. Lin Marsh says:

    BTW, visited you from My Quilt Infatuation.

  7. Love your kitty mini, Lori! The binding does look just right : )

  8. Navy Wifey Peters says:

    I love that kitty quilt! So cute!

    Navy Wifey Peters @ Submarine Sunday Link Party!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

