Triple Barnstar Workshop

I had to go back to work this week so I did not get nearly the amount of sewing done that I had last week on my ‘sewcation’. I did a little more work on the Triple Barnstar Quilt. I posted this shot last week of a few of the blocks:

IMG_0308.JPG

I got all the blocks made and then I laid them out into the pattern, creating a even distribution of colors and patterns, and then started sewing sections together. I like to piece in sections and not necessarily rows. It helps me to match up seams a little more precisely. Eventually you do have to piece a row or two but it helps me keep everything straight in the meantime. I got the center star section pieced and it looks so cool.

IMG_0332.JPG

White is not a color that I normally work with especially in a solid. But it came in the kit and I going with it. I’m a bit concerned at this point as how to quilt it. With a patterned background the quilting kind of fades in but with white I just don’t know. I love quilts that have a solid white background but it is nothing I’ve used on my own quilts. Taking this large step out of my comfort zone will be good for me and help me think a different way about the quilting plan and technique.

At this point, I have 3/4 of the top done and pieced together. It’s a gorgeous pattern and these Birch Farm fabrics (by Joel Dewberry) really work well with it.

IMG_0336.JPG

Since I am not buying fabric, and will be shopping my own stash for any projects, I don’t have any pretties to show. But, I did pick up some swap goodies for the 3 swaps I’m currently in. I posted this super secret swap goodie on Instagram for the Disney Mini Quilt Swap and everyone was really excited about it.

IMG_0323.JPG
I also picked up some Needle Magnets, some sewing goodies, and some local Memphis flavor.

IMG_0337.JPG
I hope my partners will enjoy whichever of these goodies is coming their way!

6 thoughts on “Triple Barnstar Workshop

  1. You sure did get a lot achieved on your sewvacation πŸ™‚ Sometimes white just works so well with bright colours for a change πŸ™‚

  2. knitnkwilt says:

    I like to put a block in a block as you did, but never got quite that big. How fun!

  3. Lea Anne says:

    Love the white, it’s my go-to background. Granny always used white so I thought I might as well too!

  4. This is so pretty, Lori! Those fabrics are perfect in this, and I hope I get to see it in person next Sunday!

    Thank you so much for sharing at Needle and Thread Thursday!

    πŸ™‚ Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

  5. Very pretty. I love a white background. I live close to work and sometimes I get to sew during lunch. Your sew-cation sounds wonderful.

  6. jayne Willis says:

    Love the design a lot! Very nicely done!!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

