Witches and Rainbows

There was an incident with the Halloween quilt that I made for my mother last year.

IMG_0144.JPG
Her dogs pulled it off the back of the couch and ate off one corner of it. I was able to perform surgery and fix it but I have a feeling that she will not be putting it out this year. So, I decided to make her a Halloween wall hanging. I found this super cute Witches Hat foundation paper piecing pattern on Craftsy and knew that it would be perfect and match the rest of her decorations. I pulled a selection of purples, blacks, oranges, yellows, and greens. For the background, I decided on the bird print I used for my Birds and the Bees quilt.

IMG_1171.JPG
The black birds make it look a little sinister and creepy when paired with Halloween colors.
Once it was pieced and basted, I was trying to decide how to quilt it and decided that I would try out free-motion quilting on a real-life project. I figure that Mom will love it no matter how the quilting looks and she will be proud that I even tried. She knows it is one of the skills I want to learn this year. It’s a little wonky but passable.

IMG_0435.JPG

IMG_0434.JPG
It looks like a small problem with my speed through the curves.

IMG_0433.JPG
I’ll just have to practice some more and get that hand/foot speed control more consistent. I made a scrappy binding and finished this one up.

IMG_0438.JPG
She’s going to love it!!

IMG_0440.JPG
I’m loving these small projects so much that I started another one. I downloaded a pattern that had 4 Friendship Stars and some bar blocks. I decided a rainbow would be perfect for it if I just added 3 more stars. Time to sort my scraps:

IMG_0446.JPG
How pretty does that all look? Just having them sorted like that makes me smile. I’m putting this together by color section starting with red. For the bar blocks I will be using all scraps by sewing them into slabs and cutting the strips I need for each section. How sunny and gorgeous is this yellow slab?

IMG_0449.JPG
I pulled 3 of my coveted text prints to use as a scrappy background. Hello Architextures, Word Search, and Sudoku.

IMG_0452.JPG
I’m only through 3 colors right now but I really like how it’s coming together.

IMG_0450.JPG

13 thoughts on “Witches and Rainbows

  1. I likie!! Great post. Dogs eating quilts… my poodle ate three tumbling blocks last Christmas with the plastic templates inside. He had been watching me sewing them the day before, so I suppose he thought they must be interesting and what better way to really see something than eating it? Love your blog and quilts… I’m gonna look around. LeeAnna at Not afraid of color lapaylor.blogspot.com

  2. Those birds do look a little creepy when paired with Halloween fabrics!

  3. Cathy says:

    Love the witch’s hat! It’s adorable! And text prints are my absolute favorite. Thanks for sharing.

  4. maartjequilt says:

    You mother will be very happy with het wall hanging. It is really beautiful. I love your fabrics. Succes with your free motion quilting. It i a lot of fun!
    Love from Amsterdam

  5. Shannon says:

    That is a “boo-tiful” Halloween witch’s hat. Love the quilt! Keep up with the FMQ–you’ll get your speed and timing worked out. Great job!–Shannon http://moderntraditionquilts.blogspot.com

  6. Vera says:

    Those color sorted scraps are great! Love the pic!

  7. Carla says:

    How cute! Looks fun. I enjoy the small projects too!

  8. Kathi Riemer says:

    I really like that witches hat!! I also love your sorted little piles of color.

  9. Patricia says:

    Love Halloween and your quilt but the hat the best!

  10. The witch’s hat is awesome and the wonky quilting actually suits the wall hanging perfectly. It that improv piecing for the quilt show mini? I can’t wait to see it! Thanks for linking up with TGIFF!

  11. Love the witch’s hat. Can’t wait to see what your rainbow quilt looks like in the end!

  12. Dona says:

    Love , love, love the witch’s hat! really nice. The yellow slab is also really nice!

  13. I really like your witches hat, it is so cute! Keep practicing FMQ, it gets easier. I think you did a great job!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

