Floral Pop! – Finished

Another finish! And it’s a regular sized quilt! It’s been a while but this one is a Christmas gift and I needed to get it done. The quilt top finish post was made in February. I’ve had it basted since April when I basted the Birds and the Bees quilt. It’s been hanging out in my sewing room awaiting quilting inspiration. And when it hit I just had to finish it. I went with the same wavy quilting that I used on my Contained Chaos mini.

IMG_0537.JPG
However, I quilted the quadrants from the outside-in using an ‘L’ shape. And quilted the middle center across end to end with the wavy quilting. I think it turned out really cool and I am super pleased with it.

IMG_0521-0.JPG

The backing combined the original fabric I bought for the back and some of the remaining floral focal fabric with one bold strip down the back.

IMG_0542.JPG
I quilted it with this variegated pink thread from Gutterman.

IMG_0522.JPG

For the binding I used the remnants of the backing and I love the look it gives.

IMG_0531-1.JPG

IMG_0546.JPG

The gift recipient will be thrilled! She’s bold and outspoken and this quilt represents her really well. It’s also in her favorite colors.

IMG_0552.JPG

IMG_0538-0.JPG

IMG_0543.JPG

IMG_0550.JPG

I’m entering this one in the Fall 2014 Blogger’s Quilt Festival in the Small Quilt Category. It measures 54×66 and makes it just under the size restrictions. Please vote starting November 1st.

5 thoughts on “Floral Pop! – Finished

  1. maartjequilt says:

    Beautiful quilt. The binding is well choosen. I love all the colors. Great job. Hope you get a lot of votes!!!

  2. Valerie Avendano says:

    Clearly the most beautiful colors! G loved it!

    >

  3. Judy says:

    Beautiful! The chocolate and pinks and just the right amount of green to make it really pop 🙂 Love the quilting!!

  4. knettycraft says:

    colourful & wild… love it!

  5. What happy colors! Great photography skills, too.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

