The One with the Leg Lamp

I’ve been doing some Christmas sewing. I finished one third of the charity quilt for my church. Then I changed focus, of course, and started working on some Christmas gifts. I wanted to make sure that I got a few completed quickly so I wouldn’t lose track of time and not have enough time to get them done. I also signed up for another swap and that will take some of my sewing time as well.

My boss is a lover of the movie ‘A Christmas Story’ and we’ve been getting him movie related items for a few years now. I recently saw a leg lamp pattern on Instagram and knew that I had to make it for his gift this year. I found the pattern at Sew What Sherlock?.
I didn’t have a good fabric in my stash for the nylons part of the leg. So, I improvised. I cross hatched with black thread on some beige stripe fabric that I had.

IMG_0588.JPG
I love how it turned out. I had to be very fussy with the piecing so that the ‘netting’ looked continuous down the leg.

IMG_0589.JPG
I used a suede-like fringe instead of actual flapper-style fringe and I am glad I did. I bought enough to trim the pillow out once I get the insert for it.

IMG_0591.JPG
I’m trying to decide if I should add the red ‘Fragile’ wording across the leg or not. I like how it looks without it but it could still look cool with it. Decisions, decisions. Let me know what you think.

IMG_0593.JPG

I also made another Sew Together Bag! This one is for my step-sister. She was a Mary Kay consultant for a little while and may still get back to it. So, I wanted to make it pink, black, and white. I also wanted her to be able to use it for the makeup and bought some laminated cotton.

IMG_0607.JPG
You know that I’ve had this plan for a while since I’ve had the fabric since early spring. I was scared to cut into it due to the possible issues with it creasing and that you cannot iron it or use pins like you need to for a Sew Together Bag. And I couldn’t decide how I wanted to do the outside of the bag. I’d also picked up some Hollywood Sparkle during that time period to use on the outside. Both sets of fabric are by Riley Blake Designs.

IMG_0608.JPG

I searched #sewtogetherbag on Instagram to get some inspiration and came across one that had an initial on it. I knew I had to have that initial pattern and found it at from blank pages on Craftsy. I strip pieced the outside of the bag around the initial.

IMG_0599.JPG
The laminated fabrics were for the inside of the bag and the pockets so that she can wipe any makeup residue away.

IMG_0603.JPG
The more of these bags that I make the easier they become. This one didn’t take me as long as the last one, even with the laminated fabric in play this time. So this bag is done and I hope she’ll love it!

IMG_0602.JPG

IMG_0604.JPG

IMG_0605.JPG
I hope everyone’s gifty crafting is going well. I’ve got a few more gift projects to go until I’m done with my holiday sewing for the year and I am definitely motivated now to get some more of those completed.

16 thoughts on “The One with the Leg Lamp

  1. Bonnie Irby says:

    Love both of them. They will be great gifts.

  2. Excellent! I love the leg lamp.

  3. billiemick says:

    The title gave the movie away….giggle. I can’t tell you how many times my daughter has watched that movie…..she’s 41 now and still likes it. Your leg lamp is terrific.

  4. HAHAHAHAHA! Oh my goodness, thank you for sharing your leg lamp.

  5. knettycraft says:

    Oh yes, your leglamp… or lampleg… is real fun! And I love these cool bags… as a sewing beginner I’m not brave enough to try one yet. Kind regards, Annett

  6. Stacy says:

    Best Christmas movie ever! Love your leg lamp quilt, the stockings are perfect!

  7. The leg lamp is awesome- esp how careful you were with the “fishnets”!

  8. JanineMarie says:

    That pillow is awesome!

  9. Maryse says:

    Oh my! My son in law would love the leg lamp, he is such a huge fan of the movie. Awesome!

  10. Cathy says:

    I love the leg lamp block. It is so much fun!

  11. Fabu!!!! I love the leg lamp and your fishnet stocking idea is brilliant. Love it and the bag. LeeAnna at not afraid of color

  12. Carole says:

    How clever! Love the leg lamp block. The bag is wonderful too! Visiting from NTT.

  13. AJ says:

    The patchwork on the sew together bag is gorgeous!

  14. Patti says:

    Just had to write and tell you that the Milwaukee Journal Food section had the cutest “leg lamp” cookie cutter offered in this Wed. addition it is being sold out of a store in Cedarburg, Wi.. Wish I could paper piece!!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

