Pillow Play

More Christmas crafting is happening this week. There are a few swaps I’m involved in and I’m curating gifts for my staff at work. There is a lot of sewing on the agenda this month. I started out by making a few pillows and a bunch of keychains.

The first pillow is for a very close friend of my brother. She likes penguins and I wanted to make her something special. I found the penguin paper-piecing pattern on Craftsy. It’s a more classic penguin which is great since I didn’t want a cutesy one for this project. I started out with this Kate Spain fabric and it really was a bit too busy so I unpieced portions of it and remade it with a cursive text print.

IMG_0611.JPG
The text print is so much better! I really love that Kate Spain print so I used it as a small border on each side.

IMG_0614.JPG

IMG_0616.JPG
I wavy quilted in a cross-hatch pattern that I really like a lot.

Then I put together a bunch of key fob keychains using all kinds of different fabric designs and webbing color. A good portion of these are for my department at work, some are for other Christmas gifts, and some are for swaps that I am involved in. Heck, I’ll probably keep one myself. They are just so darn cute!

IMG_0621.JPG

I also made a Christmas pillow. This project is for one of the swaps I am in. I still have a few other Christmas themed items to make before the end of the season.

IMG_0623.JPG
I improv-pieced a lot of green scraps together to make a slab and used my 60 degree ruler to cut out the shapes I wanted. I love this sweet Whimsy text print and knew I wanted to use it as the background for this project. I used raw-edge appliqué to secure the trees and stumps in place. I straight-line quilted the front horizontally. I love the dimension it gives to these smaller pillows. Sorry for the bad nighttime lighting on this picture but you get the idea.

IMG_0624.JPG
I made an envelope closure for the back but my pillow form is a bit too fluffy and I didn’t make the panels long enough so a little beer belly was showing through. Next improv decision – button that puppy up. I had these fabulous wooden buttons on hand and created 2 buttonholes toward the center of the pillow back. It is still straining a little bit but looks really cute.

IMG_0626.JPG
I’m looking forward to more gifty quilting progress this week because these all turned out so great!

IMG_0630.JPG

7 thoughts on “Pillow Play

  1. The key fobs are adorable and will make wonderful gifts!

  2. that pinguin! So cute and so is the background fabric choice. The pillows are too teensy cute too. Love the binding on them. LeeAnna at not afraid of color

  3. Joanna says:

    Ohh that penguin is adorable!

    Love the buttons on the back too! I need to learn how to do button holes so I can do that on some of my covers…

    • crossquilt says:

      Joanna – My buttonhole foot wasn’t working very well so I just zigzagged the heck out of it on two parallel lines and took my seam ripper to the middle to create the hole. Worked like a charm.

      >

  4. Cathy says:

    Love those pillows! They turned out really cute.

  5. Tina says:

    I love the penguin! Key fobs are so much fun to make. I just ordered more webbing and hardware.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

