Christmas Sewing

I’ve been doing some more Christmas sewing this week and fighting off a small cold. I’m going to win on both fronts. 🙂

I finished the Leg Lamp pillow by straight line quilting vertically and adding some fringe to the sides and it looks awesome.

IMG_0633.JPG
I did an envelope closure on the back for a little more interest.

IMG_0637.JPG
It looks great with the pillows I finished last week.

IMG_0640.JPG
An extra-large mug rug was completed. I used the 6 1/2 inch pattern of the Lucky Stars Block of the Month from last November. I thought it looked a little like a poinsettia and would be a good focal point for this mug rug.

IMG_0672.JPG
It is 12×8 so I’m calling it a Mug and Cookie rug. I echo quilted around the star in this gorgeous variegated red.

IMG_0681.JPG

IMG_0676.JPG
I love how it turned out. It is a great size for a drink and a snack or it could make a fabulous candle mat, especially with those electric candles that my mom likes.

IMG_0677.JPG
I also did a little work on a Lizzie Kate snowman cross-stitch project. It’s really starting to take shape. I may get more done this weekend while I beat this cold off.

IMG_0647.JPG
There is such joy that comes with sewing this time of year. The colors, the prints, the designs – everything is just so calming and evokes such pleasant thoughts of friends and family. There is something so joyful in unselfish sewing and in knowing that you are putting love into all of these handmade goodies. I just love it.

7 thoughts on “Christmas Sewing

  1. amelie says:

    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO COOOOOOOOOOOOOOL

  2. Wow, such lovelies. The penguin pillow–swoon! The variegated thread–want (what brand do you use?) Finally, the mug and cookie rug–stealing that idea. Thanks for sharing your stuff!

  3. gotta love Christmas fabrics and thread. LeeAnna at not afraid of color

  4. Kate says:

    Lovely projects … and I especially like the mug rug/candle mat – versatility is a good thing. ^^

  5. Mareenchen says:

    Very fun projects and the thread is looking yummy!

  6. I’m in the Christmas sewing mode as well, and loving every minute! Your projects are gorgeous…and hope you beat that cold!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

