Schnitzel and Boo Mini Quilt Swap

I had to bust through and finish the mini quilt for the Schnitzel & Boo Mini Quilt Swap. I tend to push right up to, and maybe a little over, the deadline for shipping. My secret partner gave some very specific likes and my Instagram stalking confirmed those likes. Those likes included woodland animals like owls and foxes.

I started out cross-stitching this sweet owl:

2015/01/img_0822.jpg
It says ‘Hope’ on the belly and I thought it was super cute and perfect for my partner. I got this far before I realized that I really did not have time to finish that part of it.

2015/01/img_0954.jpg
I work retail accounting – what was I thinking? I definitely didn’t have time for all that hand work during December and January. I barely have time to do laundry or vacuum. 🙂

So, I changed course and found some really cute paper-pieced woodland animals by Kristy at Quiet Play. I showed you the owl last week but I’ll show it to you again because it is so darn cute.

2015/01/img_08751.jpg

I made some rays with some coordinating prints.

2015/01/img_0882.jpg

So, I just needed something for the last quadrant which is where the Hope owl was going to go. My partner likes foxes and a fox was on that woodland pattern set so foxes it is.

2015/01/img_0917.jpg

I had the perfect backing fabric in my stash and used some brown from the owl for the binding.

2015/01/img_0920.jpg

A little crosshatch wavy quilting and we were done!

2015/01/img_0925.jpg

2015/01/img_0923.jpg

2015/01/img_0928.jpg

2015/01/img_0927.jpg
In other news, I gave in and got this Cotton + Steel bundle from Quilters Square.

2015/01/img_0911.jpg

2015/01/img_0912.jpg
I’m not a big fan of the animal ones so they will go in my box designated for fat quarter swaps.

I have one more Mini Quilt Swap coming up but it is not due until March and I already have a plan brewing in my head. That will give me time to work on some of my current works-in-progress and maybe get a few of quilt tops basted and quilted.

6 thoughts on “Schnitzel and Boo Mini Quilt Swap

  1. Valerie Avendano says:

    You know I loved the owl and the fox!!! Super cute!

    >

  2. Oh dear I shouldnt have looked hahahahaah Im wondering if I can get what Im doing finished so I could do a few of woodland creatures hahahahahaah my paypal doesnt thank you hahahahahaah

  3. Emma House says:

    I really love the fox in your mini quilt. I’m sure your swap partner will love it.

  4. Mary says:

    Great paper piecing, I’m sure your partner will love it.

  5. Oh my, your partner is going to love that – it is so darn cute!

  6. photosarah says:

    So cute! The eyes make it.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

