Snow Days, Sew Days

My area of the US does not get a lot of snowy winter weather. However, we do get our share of ice from time to time. This year we have gotten both and within short periods of time. We are also not equipped to handle the ice accumulation on the roads. There are few salt trucks and limited amounts of brine to prep the roads. So, only the main streets are taken care of. What all this means is that any ice or freezing rain cause the city to basically shut down. Sleet and ice a few weeks back resulted in the table runner I showed in my previous post. This last week we had a heavy day of freezing rain followed by snow and the next day where the melted snow froze over on the roads. I will freely admit that I choose not to drive on the icy roads so I stayed home both days. The first day consisted of conference calls and web meetings for work.
However, some happy mail arrived the day before so I was able to stare at my pretty new fabrics while following along with the WebEx. My boxful came in from Craftsy during one of their big sales.

IMG_1166

IMG_1167
A fat quarter bundle of Fun and Games by Riley Blake Designs. This is my favorite print in the bunch but they are all so much fun. There’s dart boards, a maze, and a bunch of great blenders.

The box also contained a jelly roll (2.5 in width-of-fabric strips) of Ready, Set, Go manufactured by Robert Kaufman.

IMG_1168
The colors are these bright primary hues and I think it’s a super cute fabric. Some of the blender prints are great just on their own. I had this idea for a jelly roll quilt but I put it on my design door and felt that is was way too busy.

IMG_1180
But how cute is this selvedge section showing the colors?

IMG_1177
I just love those little trucks! After a little redesign I ended up with this:

IMG_1193
I’ll figure out what to do with it later on.

I ended up on Friday with a snow drift on my back patio. It created the perfect backdrop for the last item in the box.

IMG_1161
A Kona Solids ROYGBIV fat quarter bundle. I just could not resist placing that beauty on the untampered snow for it’s photo shoot. It’s my favorite picture of that day. I’m trying to break out of my old patterns and work with solids more.

That afternoon found me shoveling ice off the front walkway so I wouldn’t fall on my behind when I ventured out on Saturday. I hope that was Mother Nature’s last hurrah that allows Spring to finally show up.

6 thoughts on “Snow Days, Sew Days

  1. I love all those fabrics!! I’ve been eyeing the Ready, Set, Go! line to make a quilt for one of my grandsons…I think I’ll pull the trigger and buy them now!

  2. knitnkwilt says:

    a good use of a snow/ice day! Visiting from WIP Wed

  3. Fun fabrics and a great photo.

  4. Stephanie says:

    Love what you’ve done with those primaries!

  5. Gayle says:

    With a delivery like that I would have been elated to wake up snowed in! Thanks for sharing all the pretties.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

