Revved up Redesign

Last post I shared a quilt top that I made using the ‘Ready, Set, Go’ fabric line. To be honest, I did not like portions of that top. But, I loved the main piece of it.

IMG_1224
This is the piece that I had previously started this top with. I like how cool it looks but I really wanted to feature some of the adorable fabric from that line. I think they get a little lost in that section. So, I tore apart the areas that were surrounding that wonderful centerpiece. As a reminder, here is what it looked like before.

IMG_1193
It was actually a bit satisfying hearing the tearing of the stitches as I ripped the seams apart. Now, when I say ‘ripped’ that is exactly what I did. I held each side of the seam with each of my hands and tore. It was actually really fabulous since I knew that something better would come out of it.

What I have decided to do is more like a medallion quilt using that center as the starting point. I kept the 4 outer sections but cut them down to 2.5 inches wide. I may even go a little thinner than that before I attach the next border.

That next border is going to be the Raspberry Kiss block from Wooden Spoon Quilts. Each block is 4.5 inches square and six across will fit with the borders the size they are now.

IMG_1225

IMG_1221
I like how it looks with those two blocks so it will be fun to see how it actually comes together and what I end up with when it’s all done.

Modern Quilt Guild Riley Blake Fabric Challenge
I received the fabrics from Riley Blake for the MQG Fabric Challenge and I have no idea what I am going to do with them. You are challenged to do something you have not done before using only these fabrics and any others from the same line or the coordinating basic or solid. Stay tuned for that one. It may be a surprise for all of us.

IMG_1214

Other Stash Enhancement:
I could not resist the Maker line from Art Gallery fabrics. They are so incredibly fabulous!

IMG_1226
Just look at this metallic scissors print! Gold and silver dots just takes it up a notch.

IMG_1227
I purchased mine from Sew Lux Fabrics. Such great packaging they do there.

IMG_1197

Sunshine finally hit Tennessee and Gryffin just took it all in while I was sewing. It’s such a blissful look on his face.

IMG_1215
I hope this means Spring is on it’s way.

4 thoughts on “Revved up Redesign

  1. Cathy says:

    I love the Makers fabrics!!! I’m going to have to track them down. I also love the changes to your quilt. I think the medallion route is the way to go.

    • crossquilt says:

      Thanks Cathy! I put a link to Sew Lux Fabrics selection of Maker if you want to check out her shop. And the medallion route is definitely the clearer one for me, too.

      >

  2. Jayne says:

    Oh I love Marker Line…what a great stash builder, not to mention just adorable! I’m not sure what the heck I’ll make with my Riley Blake fabric either. Most likely it won’t be done until a week before the deadline!
    And another beautiful day today in Tennessee! We sure had some crazy weather this winter!

  3. Patricia Cash says:

    I love the block, with all the colored prints and then the solids. Thanks for sharing.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

