Sunnyside for Sunny Days

Sunny, spring days have finally hit my area of the country and I could not be happier!  It’s supposed to rain and storm all week but I don’t care because I finished my Sunnyside nine-patch quilt.  And it’s new home will be my bed! 

 I started this top in late March of last year – here’s that post.  It used 2 layer cakes of Sunnyside by Kate Spain and some random blenders that I had in my stash.  It was initially pieced during a sew-in for the Memphis Area Modern Quilt Guild.  After it was pieced it just kind of hung out for a while enjoying the scenery within the realm of my sewing room.  It saw me discover Swaps on Instagram and Sew Together Bags and a ton of other projects while it languished in my Work-in-Progress pile.

I knew I wanted it on my bed for the summer season so I knew that I had to finish it up soon.  It has actually been basted for 5 months.  I had wall-basted it which I believe really helps me to keep it a bit more taut than anything I’ve ever been able to get done on the floor. 

 The cats have been using it as a bed while it sat on a chair in my sewing room waiting to be quilted.  They like to watch me while I sew.  It took quite a bit of lint rolling to get it ready to put through the machine.  Luckily it was only a small section that they had access to. 

 I quilted it using a meandering square random design. 

  The backing is 3 strips of the main directional fabric from the Sunnyside line that I bought specifically for this.  I bound it using 2 of the backing prints. 

  

 I’m going to wash it and get it all crinkly and put it on my bed.  This is the first queen-size quilt (it’s 80×80) I have made and I’m really excited to begin to use it every day!  

11 thoughts on “Sunnyside for Sunny Days

  1. Valerie Avendaño says:

    How wonderful to make something so beautiful for your own bed!!! It’s beautiful and super cheerful!

  2. Patricia Cash says:

    Very pretty, the colors are perfect for spring and summer.

  3. Renee says:

    Sunnyside is one of my favorite lines! What a fun way to show it off and get to see it every day. You did a lovely job on such a big quilt!

  4. Diana says:

    Great design~love everything Kate Spain!

  5. sewsingular says:

    Lovin’ your quilt and your cat!

  6. Kerry Mero says:

    I love it, and it is quite an accomplishment — your first queen size quilt! The wall basting sounds intriguing, too.

  7. Heather says:

    Beautiful quilt!

  8. Cathy says:

    I love it! And congrats on the finish! I’m sure your cats will miss it. 🙂

  9. Myra says:

    Your quilt is very pretty! It must have been a lot of work to quilt that on your home machine.

  10. That is just a lovely summer quilt!
    Esther

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

