Trail Tote

Last week I had pulled some fabrics for the Trail Tote designed by Anna of Noodlehead Designs.  It is a free pattern on the Robert Kaufman site. 

 Teal for the exterior, scissors for the interior, mustard for the accent pockets, and grey for the strap.  All but the teal are from the Maker line by Art Gallery Fabrics.  The teal is Dottie’s Cousin in Teal by Cotton + Steel.  I had decided on the small tote as I wanted it for an everyday bag.  I used Soft and Stable for the interfacing of the exterior instead of the interfacing called for in the pattern.  I wanted a bag that was more sturdy than floppy and I heard that product was fabulous for that result.

I quilted the exterior in between the lines in the design on the fabric.  It’s very subtle but effective.  I felt like a rock star when I got the inset zipper placed and top stitched down. 

 Once everything was prepped and interfaced it came together pretty quickly.  I had ordered my hardware from Etsy via Purse Supplies R Us.  The prices were great and the shipping was fast. 

 I skipped the piping step as I forgot to buy the cording for it but I love it all the same.  I made a few errors along the way but was able to unpick and fix the issue without any problems.  Once the bag was complete I also attached the lining to the inside of the exterior with a few tacking stitches in each interior corner within the seams.  Next time, I would make the strap just a little bit longer so that it would sit in the perfect place for my frame.  I tend to like longer bags and always use them as a cross-body so I can stay hands-free while out and about.      I love the mustard accent against that teal of the exterior.  This whole bag is just awesome!

Stash Enhancement:

I picked up some fabric for another mini swap that I am in and it will work perfectly for what I have spinning around in my head. 

Sweet Serenade by Basic Grey for Moda, yellow is unmarked, Violette by Amy Butler,stones are unmarked,Spot On, gold is unmarked, Studio 8 , Stitch Square,Painter’s Canvas

I have a little while until I need to get this one done but I am excited now that I have the right fabrics!

13 thoughts on “Trail Tote

  1. Colleen says:

    your bag turned out really nice. Thanks for the link, I’ll have to pin it as I hope to get my courage up to try making a bag someday ! Lots of good contrast in your new fabric selection
    Colleen @ piecemakerquilts.wordpress.com

  2. Stephanie says:

    I love the fabrics you picked for the trail tote.

  3. msminnesota says:

    Your bag looks great. I know I need to tackle one, but I’m still scared!

  4. Mary says:

    The bag is on my list, I’m totally with you on cross body bags I can’t manage without! Lovely stash additions too

  5. Your bag looks lovely, thanks for the link to the pattern.

  6. Anna says:

    Your bag is lovely, how did you do the contrast bit round the zip?

  7. Cathy says:

    I love your bag! I just can’t get myself to make them but I really admire people who do.

  8. Jan O says:

    Very cute bag – I love how you followed the grid in the print for the quilting. The pattern looks like a convenient size and shape. I’d like to make one, and yours looks awesome!

  9. Wendy says:

    Hi Lori – Thank you very much for linking up with Sew Cute Tuesday. I love your bag. I’ve got that teal fabric in my stash too, but hadn’t thought of teaming it with mustard. Well done.

  10. Hope Nelson says:

    Your bag looks great, I really like your fabric combination.

  11. […] pieces, and a dark grey texture for the strap.  She wanted a small bag like the one I made for myself.  It was made using the Trail Tote pattern by Anna Graham for Robert Kaufman […]

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

