Sewing with Friends

While visiting friends I was able to get a tiny bit of sewing in.  First, I was able to give the joy of sewing to a 6 year old.  She is losing her first teeth and we needed to make a tooth fairy pouch to hang on her bedroom door.  She chose the fabric from what she found during our trip to The Intrepid Thread.  It is a sweet purple flower pattern called Hothouse Flowers – Scattered Violetes in Lavender.  We grabbed some mini charm squares that we had on hand and made a pocket for the front of the bag.  This little one sewed the pocket together and attached it to the purple fabric. 

  She did a fabulous job!

After her bedtime, I was able to finish the bag up and added a few embellishments and some ribbon for hanging. 

 The next day, her mom and I put together an Hour Basket but in a smaller size to use as a thread catcher.  It turned out to be the perfect size for that task.

That tree fabric was in the remnant bin at the Intrepid Thread and looks so great in this project.

Stash Enhancement:

Also, while I was away I placed an order with Craftsy during their fabric blowout sale and came home to a few very well priced bundles of goodness. 

 British Invasion by Riley Blake designs – 14 piece bundle.  I really love those plaids.  My future sister-in-law will be moving to the states from the UK and I wanted to make her a little something.  I’m not sure what that will be but I only have a month or so to get it together before the wedding. 

 Hipster Pop and Crimp -10pc bundle.  These are just great blenders and I’m sure will get used in many different projects. 

 Lazy Day by Riley Blake – 12pc bundle.  Hot air balloons, great blenders, cherries, and flowers!  These bundles were only 10 to 15 U.S. dollars each.  I just couldn’t pass up that great of a deal.

I also got this grouping of Chevrons in the Ruby colorway. Each color is 1 yard of fabric and was also at a super sweet sale price!

 I’ve got a lot of plans up my sleeve for the next few months and cannot wait to share them all with you.

I saw this on Instagram this week and felt it very appropriate for all of my crafting friends.😊

  

4 thoughts on “Sewing with Friends

  1. LOL, love that Instagram post! 🙂

  2. Patricia Cash says:

    It is always great to introduce sewing to children. Great stash builders!

  3. You definitely made some good choices! Love those bundles! I especially like the British Invasion by Riley Blake.

  4. Dasha Brandt says:

    That Instagram saying is a hoot!! And so true. LOL Helping children to create is wonderful and it helps to set them up with the joy of creativity for life.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

