British Beauty

My brother has been dating a wonderful young lady from the UK.  They have recently become engaged and will be married next month.  We are all very excited that this beautiful woman will be joining our family and moving to the states.  

Any celebration gives a quilter the opportunity to create a fabulous gift.  So, of course, I had to make her a Sew Together Bag.  They do make the perfect gifts.  I had found this fabric bundle on Craftsy.  It is Bristish Invasion by Riley Blake designs. 

I had to figure out an exterior design that would feature bits of the fabric but still keep it contained.  I didn’t want it to be very scrappy.  I also chose this background fabric from my stash to play nice with all the colors.  It has a Moda selvedge but no name. I recently bought a mini charm pack that came with a mini tumbler ruler and chose that tool to cut that bundle apart.  I interspersed the prints with the grey.  I love the way it came out!  I horizontally straight line quilted that panel and set it aside while I pieced the bag. I used the plaids for the interior lining pieces and the crowns for the inside of the pockets.  Three different zipper colors make it easy to indentify which pocket holds what stuff. My sewing time, not including the exterior, has decreased for this bag and I didn’t have to look at the instructions this time, other than for the cutting directions.  I will admit to sewing two sections backwards because I wasn’t paying close enough attention but that was easily fixed.  I was struggling while deciding between a red zipper or a charcoal grey one for the exterior zipper.  I’m very happy that I went with the red one!      I will be bringing it with me to the wedding and plan to give it to her when we finally meet for the first time.  So exciting!

Stash Enhancment:

This week I picked up some mini charm packs to use for whatever comes to mind.  I love the Paradisio line and you can’t go wrong with the texty goodness that Sweetwater puts outs in the Feed Company line.  These should be fun to dig into this summer.

8 thoughts on “British Beauty

  1. Valerie Avendaño says:

    The bag came out so cute! Love those charm packs!!!

  2. Mary Huey says:

    Delightful little bag — someday I might make one of those — always admire them when quilters share them!

  3. Adorable! This is one of the cutest Sew Together Bags I’ve seen, those tumbling blocks are perfect for it 🙂

  4. Karen Thurn says:

    Very sweet bag! I’m sure she’ll love it!

  5. DeborahGun says:

    what a fantastic gift. As a fellow Brit, I know she’ll love it!

  6. Little Black Cat Quilting says:

    It turned out great!! Those tumbler blocks are perfect for the outside. And I agree, that red zipper is like the cherry on top of an already awesome bag. 🙂

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

