Teal love

Many of you know of my love for teals and blues.  Last week I shared the in-progress pics of a sweet baby quilt made with my favorite hues – teals and blues. 

 I wasn’t sold on the placement of some of the triangles so I made a few adjustments and now I LOVE it!  The heart piece stands out a bit more and I made it more symmetrical and added more of the solids.  I did have to stop and get more yardage of those solids.  The dark blue in this photo is actually a deep teal and is just gorgeous.  Here’s a close-up of the sweet snails and dragonfly prints.  

 These prints would work for a boy or girl quilt which makes it pretty gender nuetral.  When finished it should be about 40″ square which is perfect for those new bundles of joy.

After that I took my teal love and placed it in the Rhoda Ruth Block Challenge.  The Robert Kaufman Quilting Blog – Swatch and Stitch – is hosting a fabric challenge using Kona solids or Essex linen.  Make the Genny and Ruth block using those fabrics and post on Instagram or Facebook using the hashtag #RhodaRuthBlockChallenge by the morning of August 31st.    Here’s my block of teals with a touch of grey.  I like how it shimmers.  Now I need to figure out what to do with it.  It could make a great throw pillow or I could build a whole quilt around it.  So many options……..

I also made myself a key fob using some teal scrap fabric.  I needed a new keychain for my new car!!!!  

 No white, black, grey, or tan cars for me.  It’s this really cool blue color which could be seen better if it hadn’t been overcast and rainy all day.  There’s lots of room in the back for fabric except now I have a car payment so I will be cutting back on those purchases for a little bit.

Before that purchase I was at JoAnn’s picking up the solids and I saw this sewing machine print that will be perfect for my ironing board.   Now I just need to find the perfect tutorial to get it done.  I think I already have one downloaded but I will have to double check that.

 

5 thoughts on “Teal love

  1. Haha that car definitely counts as a quilting tool! Said just like a quilter, a vehicle that holds lots of fabric! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m a teal fan too, and that block really shimmers!

  2. lorindadavis says:

    I love how the snails and Dragonflies quilt turned out! I think you made the right choice only putting solids in the heart. And congratulations on the purchase of your new car!

  3. love the hidden heart in the quilt! Well not hidden, but the sub pattern you made with the placement! So sweet! Love the colours too

  4. Rachel says:

    I really like what you did with your teal heart. Lovely!

  5. Cathy says:

    I love the heart quilt! You’re right, the heart stands out more now. Congrats on the new car!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

