Random Roundup #11

This week I have been working on projects for Christmas gifts.  It’s never too early to get started on those. I like to have them ready to go in case I get distracted by other pretty things – new fabrics, new patterns, new whatever….

Trail Tote:

My stepsister saw the Small Trail Tote that I made and wanted me to make one for her.  She was at my house a few months back and picked out a color palette of blues, teals, and seafoams.  Then she stated that I was the expert and could choose for her.  She was a bit overwhelmed by my stash at that point.  I recently grabbed what she chose and made the final cuts.  I was left with an Art Gallery print for the exterior, a sweet birdcage print for the interior, two coordinating pocket pieces, and a dark grey texture for the strap.  She wanted a small bag like the one I made for myself.  It was made using the Trail Tote pattern by Anna Graham for Robert Kaufman Fabrics.  I got the exterior piece done and loved how it was looking with the diamond quilting.  And I was, once again, amazed by how cool the zipper pocket is to make.  I used Soft and Stable for the exterior interfacing.  It gives it such a great texture and support.  I expanded the interior pocket to give it two slots instead of one large one which I wish I had done on mine.  I know she’ll enjoy the extra space.     She’s going to love it!!

Butterfly Pillow Sham:

My bestie’s 6 year old daughter has informed her mom that she wants to do her room in pinks and purples.  That is a little off of the design aesthetic of her mother.  But, with that jumping off point, I wanted to make her something for the room.  During that thought process Kristy of Quiet Play had a pattern sale and I picked up a few.  One of them was the Geometric Butterfly pattern and it was perfect for this project.  I picked a gorgeous stack of pinks and a text print for the background.  I ended up accidentally skipping a few of the pieces in the pattern but it looks great anyway.  This piece is the center of the pillow sham.  I added border pieces to get it to the size I needed and then quilted a wavy crosshatch. I did an envelope closure on the back in a fabric that I got at work from a co-worker.  It is a 100% cotton sateen but was so right for this sham.  I also used this same fabric on the back of the pillow front.  I love how the quilting looks on it.   I adore the finished product!!  Now I’m wondering if I should also do one in purple……

13 thoughts on “Random Roundup #11

  1. Amanda says:

    Both projects are beautiful!!!

  2. I love those beautiful teals in your bag, I hope your sis adores it!
    And that butterfly looks like a lot of work, gorgeous!

  3. Beth says:

    I love the way you picked and put together the fabrics for your tote! Very cute! And the butterfly is marvelous!
    Beth

  4. Both look fantastic. Having more pockets in a bag is always so useful. The pink butterfly looks so wonderful, I’d be tempted to make one in purple, too.

  5. Stephanie says:

    That bag is adorable!!! The fabrics are so pretty!

  6. Jayne says:

    I love the butterfly and have that on my list! The text print is perfect for the background!

  7. sewsingular says:

    Gorgeous bag & pillow! Nice work.

  8. I love both of these projects! The linings on the bag are really cute.

  9. Clare says:

    Such a lovely cushion. Happy sew cute Tuesday

  10. Heide says:

    Two wonderful finishes! Love, Love the butterfly pillow, it is stunning.

  11. Cathy says:

    Love them both! But that butterfly pillow is simply adorable.

  12. Cute bag, love the colors she choose. The butterfly pillow sham is so sweet. Since I really like purple, one in purple sounds like a lovely idea.

  13. Jamie says:

    Love the butterfly, especially that text fabric!!!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

