Beehive blocks #2

I made a few Beehive Blocks this week.  One is for the September Queen Bee and the other for the October one.  The September Queen in my Beehive swarm chose the Mineral block.  This one has lots of little half-square triangles to form the minerals and her color palette was mostly neutrals and blues with a hint of gold and orange.  She approved my fabric pull so I went to work cutting it all out.  It had lots of little squares that needed cutting and it took a lot of concentration making sure that I cut the right color in the right amount of squares.  Once everything was cut out it was actually pretty quick to put together.  I wasn’t sure about the low volume with the animals on it but now I think it looks pretty cool.  The selvedge states it is called ‘Nature Study.’  I can’t wait to see how her quilt turns out.

The October queen is me.  I have been sitting on a color palette for a few months now and have been waiting for the blocks to be released to see what block I would possibly choose for my aesthetic.  Well, it will come as no surprise to some of you what colors I chose.   

The Color Theory fabric on the top is my inspiration piece.  The teals and greys just look so great together. The Fizzy block got released in July and it has movement and circles.  It made it to the top of my short-list.  My sample block came out awesome! There was no need to look any further.  This was the one I wanted. I made a second block and it’s just going to be incredible when I get all my Bee blocks in the mail.  I cannot wait to get this top completed.  The lights and darks are gong to give it such incredible movement and interest.  I just love it! 

Birthday Stash:

My bestie sent me a gift certificate for the Intrepid Thread for my birthday last month and I finally got around to using it and picked up these wonderful Alison Glass prints.  (The charm squares were a sweet bonus they included in my package.) I bought those on a day where Julie was having a bundle daily deal so I also grabbed these beauties. It’s such a bright and happy collection of fabrics. 

Now that Fall has officially arrived I have the urge to make a new table runner for the living room in some great fall colors.  Maybe some pumpkins………

3 thoughts on “Beehive blocks #2

  1. Jayne says:

    Love both bee blocks! The fizzy block got my attention when I first saw it too!

  2. Well, damn, girl, you’ve got some gorgeous-o fabrics there! Have fun with them.;)

  3. Cathy says:

    Your colors are so pretty! I can’t wait to see all your bee blocks and how your final quilt will look.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

