The Pumpkin Chronicles

Last weekend I admitted Fall was here and started on a pumpkin table runner.  I grabbed all my oranges and cut some 2 1/2 inch squares.  I put those together into a random 16 patch and sewed some text print triangles on the corners.  I added a couple of rows of low volume texty goodness and a stump of brown and had myself a pumpkin.  I used the newspaper type prints as I thought it to be an accurate portrayal of what a pumpkin could be sitting on.  I made 3 of these pumpkins and put them in a row with the middle one facing the opposite direction so that it looks cute from both sides.Now came the fun part of making it bigger with borders and accent pieces. Green had to be the color of the next border to get those oranges to pop.  I made that one 2″.  I didn’t want to go directly into the final border print so I added a 1 1/2″ text border.  The final border print is from a 2010 line called California Dreamin’ by Jenean Morrison.  She is a local artist and was at a street festival last month selling her designs.  I picked up this fabulous print there and it had the perfect colors for this project.  I made a 3″ border with that print. It was looking a bit boxy so I put on some dottie orange triangles, before piecing the final border, to really frame those pumpkins.  I quilted it with horizontal matchstick quilting about 1/4 inch apart and bound it in a Riley Blake orange that I had on hand. 

 It looks so fabulous on my coffee table and really brightens the room. The final size is 37 1/2 by 19.  This is actually the extent of my fall decorating so I’m glad it makes such a great punch. Jasper seems to like it, too. 

 

12 thoughts on “The Pumpkin Chronicles

  1. Nancy says:

    Love it… now you need to dye the cat black!! For Hallowe’en.

  2. Gina says:

    great table runner. I love the border print

  3. Heide says:

    Cute little pumpkin table runner!

  4. Janine says:

    Your table runner is beautiful and Jasper looks very sweet 🙂

  5. Jan O says:

    Cute table runner!

  6. Super cute pumpkin, and I love that text print.

  7. springleafstudios says:

    Such cheery pumpkins. Your kitty seems to like them too.

  8. Jackie says:

    I love your table runner! The corner triangles really add that little extra something!

  9. FWFS says:

    Such a lovely runner Lori! Thank you for stopping by and linking up! We are featuring your cute pumpkins tomorrow on the FWFS blog!

    http://fortworthfabricstudio.blogspot.com/2015/10/fabric-frenzy-friday-features_17.html

    Lindsey

  10. Melanie C says:

    Super cute!

  11. Your pumpkin table runner is simply lovely. I really enjoyed reading about your creative process as you went about making it. Loved that you used the text print as “newspaper” that they’d be sitting on.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

