Strike When the Iron is Hot

I had every intention of making up more scrap improv blocks for my new quilt when my mind decided that I needed to make another Trail Tote as it would make a fabulous gift for my eldest stepsister for Christmas.

 Last week I posted about some fabric I received.  One of those purchases was from the Lucky Strike line by Cotton + Steel.  My stepsister still bowls in a weekly league and this fabric just had to make it into some sort of gift for her. This pile, which was taunting me on top of the stack every time I walked into my sewing room, is what inspired the newest Trail Tote assembly.  The small size bag is the perfect size for her and the theme is there but not totally overstated.  This was my third time making this bag and I think this one is my favorite!   (You can see the other two here and here.)  The grey strike fabric on the outside is perfect!  I just had to make a key fob to coordinate with the bag and this scrap had the perfect orientation of a few bowling pins.  I used the scorecard fabric on the inside.  It made a fabulous lining and I kept it straight so that looks like a win-win to me. I think she’ll love it but for now it is residing in the gift closet with another Trail Tote that I made for her sister.

More C+S love:

A few weekends back, Craftsy had one of their big blowout sales.  I always take a peek even when I shouldn’t be buying any fabric.  They had a Fat Quarter Box of Cotton + Steel for $44!!  Forty FQs for $44!  I absolutely could not resist that.  It was actually the best fat quarter box that I have ever received from Craftsy.  The selection of fabrics inside the box was just wonderful.

The teal grouping:  The yellow/brown grouping:  The blue/pink grouping:  This box was the best value I’ve ever gotten from Craftsy.  (It is on sale today 10-25-15 for that same price! Hurry – run….)

I have a few ideas brewing for plans for this lovely stash addition.  I think the Plus quilt by Jeli Quilts should definitely be in the mix.

6 thoughts on “Strike When the Iron is Hot

  1. Jayne says:

    Love the tote! I had to go download the pattern (thank you)! Your fabrics are a perfect combination! I’ve often wondered about this’s mystery boxes, thanks for sharing!

  2. Gina says:

    I love the bag. Thank you for the link as this will be perfect to use when I’m walking Stan xx

  3. Cathy says:

    What a great bag! I love the fabrics. Definitely bowling theme but in a wonderful, understated way. Just love!

  4. Mary says:

    That’s a gorgeous finish, the trail tote has been on my to do list for so long! I even have the pattern printed and ready! Great fabrics too, but I’m not looking on Craftsy!!

  5. The tote turned out really nice and I admire you for getting an early start to your Christmas projects.

  6. Rachel says:

    Cute bag! Love your fabric choices.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

