Handmade Holiday

Handmade Holiday continues around here with a 241 Tote for my stepmother.

She loves all things black and yellow.  She adores and covets the Birds and the Bees quilt that I made last year.  She snuggles into it every time they stay over.  She also loves the Baroque Vera Bradley pattern and has a ton of bags in that pattern.  Based on that, I knew I had to use some sort of black/yellow/grey combination for anything for her.

Last month I picked up a fat quarter of this fabulous yellow and grey fabric by Jenean Morrison at a local arts festival.  It is from a line called Silent Cinema from a number of years back.  I mixed that with a great greyish print from my stash and it looks wonderful together on the exterior of the bag.  I used a Michael Miller daisy print called Daisy Flowers for the interior accent piece.  The other interior piece is from Holly’s Tree Farm.  It is called Gum Drops in Graphite.  The bag was pretty simple to put togther and only took me about 1/2 a day.   I think I would like a little more stiffness in this bag so I would use a thicker/sturdier interfacing for the next run.  Maybe some Fusible Fleece just to give it a little more ummph (you know what I mean).

That’s one more gift ready to go.  I am seriously loving Handmade Holiday.  It’s so much fun!  

I do need some suggestions for adult male-themed sewn gifts.  The women and girls are easy – pouches, bags, wall hangings, etc.  It’s the men that will end up with Tervis Tumblers and key chains if I don’t think of anything cooler.  So, throw some suggestions my way……

In other areas of my sewing Realm:

I was selected as a pattern tester for the glitterific Molli Sparkles.  The first test was for his Tidal Pool block and variation.  I chose to make the variation block with the ‘drain’ pieces.  I chose this fabulous rainbow bundle of dots.  I needed twelve colors to get the effect I wanted.  (Hello – cat toy photobomb…) Anyway, I wanted a rainbow theme with gold dripping off the rainbow from the drains.  I needed to use a solid gold to really get the effect I was wanting but you get the idea.  He’s published the completed free tutorial on his blog for everyone to enjoy.

This lovely will probably be made into a pillow or cushion of some sort to add to the Handmade Holiday gift selection.  I may trim it with that more solid gold color fabric to really make it sparkle!

3 thoughts on “Handmade Holiday

  1. Mary says:

    Lovely 241 tote, you’re fortunate that you have a good idea of what colours she would like! Gifts for men? I made my husband a cargo duffel, boxy pouch for all his gadgety bits, laptop case, open wide zip pouch, wash bag, I guess it a lot of it hinges on the fabric you use and the individual you are making for! Good luck.

  2. Valerie Avendaño says:

    Grace was SO impressed with the bag – she just couldn’t believe you made it!
    >

  3. JOY says:

    This is lovely!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

