More Handmade Holiday

Handmade Holiday continues around here in so many different forms.

Birds and the Bees Placemats:

As I mentioned in my last post, my step-mom fell in love with my Birds & the Bees quilt. It’s a yellow, grey, and black beauty that she gravitates toward each time they stay over.  I had some triangles left over from making that quilt and decided that she needed some placemats to brighten up her table.  I had 47 triangles remaining (I think I over-cut just a little bit) but I still had to cut one additional triangle in order to split those evenly into 4 placemats.

Once sewn into 2 rows they did not quite fit a standard placemat size so I just added side and bottom strips as needed to get it up to size (14×18).  I completed one and then took the same design to the other three.  Wavy quilting for the win!  The density really helps them lay flat on the table.  I backed them in the same fabric I used to back the quilt.  It’s a bird print from JoAnn’s. 

 She’s going to love them!  Now I am on the search for some awesome napkin rings to go with them.

Large Trail Tote:

I, once again, pulled out the pattern for the Trail Tote.  But this time I decided to make the large size.  My mom loved the two small totes I made for my step-sisters but mentioned that she would like something that her iPad would fit in.  She was not a fan of the 241 tote that I shared last week so I hope she’ll like this one.  The fabric is from JoAnn’s but it shimmers really prettily.  I used a paw print fabric as the accent pocket inside the bag.  She’ll love that little bit of whimsy for the dogs that she adores. And I just love this Tim Holtz music fabric. 

 Stash for Holiday projects:
The placemats I made earlier were not the plan when I entered my sewing space.  I was planning on making some for my brother. But I could not decide on a good base fabric.  I found one I thought would work but didn’t have enough.  So I popped over to Etsy to see if I could find some more.  At a shop called Stitches ‘n Giggles, I found the fabric and wonderful prices.

The fabric is Reel Time – Lenses in Slate by Zen Chic.  While there I also found the Sports Column Concrete print from the Varsity line by Sweetwater.  My brother is a sports analyst so it is perfect.  It will probably be used in a pouch of some sort rather than the placemats.  I would use this together with the Reel Time fabric for the placemats but the greys don’t play well together. I couldn’t pass up this Graph Paper fabric.  So simple but so fabulous!  I believe it is from the Modern Minis line by Lori Holt.  Holly’s Tree Farm – The Forest….no explanation needed.  It was a must-buy.  I’m having a ball making all these gifts.  There is so much enjoyment in creating that I’m basically giving myself a gift as well.  Still more to come….I’m on a roll….

4 thoughts on “More Handmade Holiday

  1. Valerie Avendaño says:

    This is so wonderful! But, must admit, I’m super jealous!

    “… I’m having a ball making all these gifts. There is so much enjoyment in creating that I’m basically giving myself a gift as well…”

  2. Gina says:

    I love the new fabrics. THose placemats are wonderful. Such a great idea

  3. Heidi says:

    Cute placemats, and that bowl is perfect with them, your mom may want that too 😉

  4. Rachel says:

    Love the new fabrics. The circles and the Christmas trees are so cute!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

