Stashing Goodies

All my Christmas sewing is done and has arrived at its destination ready for Christmas but I still had more Christmas prep work to do.  But, before I get to that, I wanted to share the pillow that I put in my guild’s Dirty Santa swap.  The pattern is free on Craftsy and is designed by Kristy of Quiet Play.  I made it with all Cotton + Steel fabrics and then quilted cross-hatch wavy lines in a navy blue.  I finished it way before our swap so I’ve been able to enjoy it for a while.  I received some wonderful folded fabric ornaments which are looking fabulous on my tree.  My last minute prep comes in the way of Christmas Cookie baking.  It’s one of my favorite things to do during the holidays.  First and always, I make my grandmother’s cutout cookies.  They are my dad’s favorite and he deserves to get them at Christmas.  My newest favorite recipe is for Toffee Oat Chocolate Chip cookies.  I discovered it a few years back and make it a few times a year but definitely at Christmas.  Then I tried a new recipe for White Christmas Crinkle cookies.  That one did not turn out as well as I had hoped but it’s possible I did something wrong.  I have yet to taste them.  They will probably be just fine.  Then I can decide if they will make it into next year’s rotation. 

Stash Enhancement – Xmas edition:

I stopped at a local quilt shop and picked up some supplies – some low volume, some staples, and a little pizazz. Modern Background by Zen Chic, Spot On by Robert Kaufman, and First Crush by Sweetwater.  All low volume and texty loveliness!  Architextures Crosshatch in black – just can’t have too much of that one.  That red print is also from the First Crush line.  These two bold prints are from Juggling Summer by Zen Chic.  I don’t have a plan for these but they struck me.  The teal shimmery flowers are from a line called Pearl Essence.  The other one does not have the selvedge but it called to me as well.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Christmas and festive Holiday!  May your stockings be filled with all you dream of….

One thought on “Stashing Goodies

  1. Love your create pillow… I popped right over to Craftsy and downloaded it. I’d be glad to have you join me in The Year of The Stash. It’s very much a “create your own rules” sort of deal!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

